Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction

Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction

A Novel

Judd Trichter

Thomas Dunne Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover

Set in a near-future LA, a man falls in love with a beautiful android—but when she is kidnapped and sold piecemeal on the black market, he must track down her parts to put her back together.

Bad luck for Eliot Lazar, he fell in love with an android, a beautiful C-900 named Iris Matsuo. That's the kind of thing that can get you killed in late 21th century Los Angeles or anywhere else for that matter – anywhere except the man-made island of Avernus, far out in the Pacific, which is where Eliot and Iris are headed once they get their hands on a boat. But then one night Eliot knocks on Iris's door only to find she was kidnapped, chopped up, sold for parts.

Unable to move on and unwilling to settle for a woman with a heartbeat, Eliot vows to find the parts to put Iris back together again—and to find the sonofabitch who did this to her and get his revenge.

With a determined LAPD detective on his trail and time running out in a city where machines and men battle for control, Eliot Lazar embarks on a bloody journey that will take him to the edge of a moral precipice from which he can never return, from which mankind can never return.

Judd Trichter's Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction is a science fiction love story that asks the question, how far will you go to save someone you love?

EXCERPT

ONE

Heartbeats and Spinners



A rusted scaffold from a long-abandoned restoration project twists about the charred ruins of the Hollywood sign. It rattles as a flying train arcs over the hills and plunges into the vast iridescence...

Reviews

Praise for Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction

“If it's possible to wrap Star Wars and Blade Runner into the same sketchy gumshoe package, this might be the closest thing to such a delicious sci-fi confection.” —Los Angeles Magazine

“There's both love and adventure in the choking air of neo-noir L.A. But what really makes the book stand out is the thorough job Trichter does imagining a future economic and political structure based on android technology.” —The Toronto Star

“This is a cinematic novel, and there's a ton of action (very, very creative action), but this is really a book about compassion, and acceptance, and the sometimes unimaginable lengths we'll go to for love…This book is already one of my favorite books of 2015, and I can honestly say, for fans of dark SF, this is an absolute must read, and an amazing debut.” —MyBookishWays.com

“There are huge questions here, about love, oppression and what it means to be a person…that keeps you guessing until the end about whether Eliot will succeed in his quest or not – or whether he should.” —The Register

“Surprising and refreshingly unpredictable.” —Publishers Weekly, starred

“This lyrical, musing novel is an engaging blend of romance, suspense, science fiction, action and the meaning of life.” —Shelf Awareness

“The deeper questions raised by the premise, about what it means to be alive or in love, are never answered, but they'll linger in the mind of any reader with a beating heart. A fast-moving, suspenseful story set in a fascinating future world.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Judd Trichter has crafted a masterful work of science fiction. Infused with the essence of Phillip K Dick and William S Burroughs alike, Love In The Age Of Mechanical Reproduction is a unique, drug-fueled, Los Angeles noir twist on classic sci-fi that's impossible to put down.” —Danny Strong, award-winning screenwriter of The Hunger Games: Mockingjay

“A noirish suspense-filled novel about the timeless yearning for love. Judd Trichter's terrific debut will make your heart beat faster as you turn the final page.” —Jennifer Vanderbes, author of Easter Island and The Secret of Raven Point

“Apocalyptically laugh out loud hilarious, beneath Trichter's dystopian vision lies the heart of an utterly original moralist in the tradition of Pynchon, Saunders and Vonnegut. Love In The Age of Mechanical Reproduction is a tour de force debut.” —Lee Sternthal, cowriter of Tron: Legacy

“If Ray Bradbury and Hunter S. Thompson took turns at a typewriter, Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction is the novel they would write. A dystopian tale of addiction, violence and illicit love, the dialogue sizzles, the plot has as many hooks as a fisherman's hat, and in the center sits a tired detective with an unerring moral compass.” —Stephen P. Kiernan, author of The Curiosity

“A dark, deliciously plotted futuristic epic, driven by a heartbeat determined not to drown in a cauldron of human nature gone haywire.” —Mark Ebner, author of Hollywood, Interrupted and Six Degrees of Paris Hilton

“I don't read fiction unless I am forced to. I only started this book because Judd is a friend of mine, and I assumed I'd stop after 10 pages and send him a quick 'it's great!' BS email and move on with my life. I started skimming the first page...and two days later I came up for air, having read the whole thing. It is awesome. The perfect combination of smart, thrilling, and fun. The best (and only) novel I have finished this year.” —Tucker Max, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Judd Trichter

An alumnus of Yale University and the Horace Mann School in the Bronx, JUDD TRICHTER worked as a child actor in the film BIG and many other TV and theatrical productions. His first published work was a column called "Filth" written for the Idiot Magazine and later for Tucker Max's Rudius Media. He has written a TV pilot for Lawrence Bender/Fox TV, interviewed fighters for a boxing magazine, and directed the short film "Damn You Stephen Hawking." He currently resides in Los Angeles.

Judd Trichter

Yola Monakhov Stockton

Community

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Thomas Dunne Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER