Dead Water

A Shetland Mystery

Shetland Island Mysteries (Volume 5)

Ann Cleeves

Minotaur Books

Ann Cleeves returns to her critically acclaimed Shetland Island series with this stunning mystery featuring Inspector Jimmy Perez, who readers will remember from Raven Black, White Nights, Red Bones, and Blue Lightning. When the body of a journalist is found, Detective Inspector Willow Reeves is drafted from outside to head up the investigation. Inspector Jimmy Perez has been out of the loop, but his local knowledge is needed in this case, and he decides to help Willow. The dead journalist had left the islands years before to pursue his writing career. In his wake, he left a scandal involving a young girl. When Willow and Jimmy dig deeper, they realize that the journalist was chasing a story that many Shetlanders didn't want to come to the surface. In Dead Water, a triumphant continuation to her Shetland series, Ann Cleeves cements her place as one of Britain's most successful crime writers.


Praise for Dead Water

Praise for Dead Water:
"Cleeves returns to a sea-bound land of crofters' cottages, barren rocks and fog, especially the fog surrounding the murders...the well-constructed procedural grains another dimension from Jimmy's re-engagement with his work and his life." —Kirkus Reviews

“Cleeves has an unusually deft hand with characters; not one of them seems purely plot functional, and Perez’s character keeps deepening with each book. The rough islands cresting the Atlantic fit the bleakness of the murders depicted here. This series is one of two that Cleeves has going; the other stars Northumberland detective Vera Stanhope and is a hit BBC series.” —Booklist (starred)

"Absorbing...Cleeves keeps readers guessing until the final page." —Publishers Weekly

Praise for the Shetland Island series:

“Nothing short of riveting." —Louise Penny

"Creates a dark enough mood to keep you straining to see what will come to light next." —People

"In true Christie fashion, Cleeves once more pulls the wool over our eyes with cunning and conviction." —Colin Dexter

"Gripping from start to finish."

"Deserves the top crime writer's prize in the United States this year. Don't miss this standout."
--Rocky Mountain News

"A riveting read."
---Val McDermid

"If you're a fan of Frances Fyfield, Minette Walters, or Val McDermid, get to know Cleeves."
---The Globe and Mail (UK)

Praise for the Vera Stanhope series

"Excellent . . . Intricate plotting makes for a compulsive read.”
—The Independent (UK)

“Detective Vera Stanhope is a remarkable creation.”
—Bookseller (UK)

Reviews from Goodreads



  • Ann Cleeves

  • ANN CLEEVES writes two series of traditional mysteries, both of which have been turned into hit TV series. The Vera Stanhope books star Brenda Blethyn and have been made into the hit series “Vera.” The Shetland novels feature Inspector Jimmy Perez and are being filmed by the BBC and titled “Shetland.” Raven Black, the first Shetland novel, won the CWA Gold Dagger. She lives in England.

  • Ann Cleeves Photo: Duncan Lawrie
    Ann Cleeves





    Available Formats and Book Details

    Dead Water

    A Shetland Mystery

    Shetland Island Mysteries

    Ann Cleeves



    Minotaur Books