OVERRIDE

The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb

A Berger and Mitry Mystery

Berger and Mitry Mysteries

David Handler

Minotaur Books

The historic New England village of Dorset has actually elected a living, breathing woman as its First Selectman. And now she’s about to undertake the Historic District’s biggest public works project in a generation–the widening and re-grading of Dorset Street. The job has needed doing for ages but the  previous First Selectman, Bob Paffin, always opposed it. So did a lot of Dorset’s blue-blooded old guard. 

The long put-off dig uncovers a body buried underneath the pavement in front of the Congregational Church. It belongs to Lt. Lance Paffin, Bob Paffin’s older brother, a dashing U.S. Navy flyer who went missing off his sailboat the night of the country club’s spring dance more than forty years ago. Everyone had assumed he just left town. But now it's clear Lance has been under Dorset Street this whole time, and that he was murdered.

Des and Mitch soon discover that there are deep, dark secrets surrounding Dorset's elite, and some very distinguished careers have been built on lies. Coal Black Asphalt Tomb is the tenth in David Handler's original and very funny Berger and Mitry mystery series featuring this engaging biracial couple.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER 1
 
 
BA-BOOMP-BOOM-PAH … BA-BOOMP-BOOM-PAH …
Des still couldn’t get used to it as she idled there in front of the firehouse in her Crown Vic, heater blasting on this damp, chilly April morning. She couldn’t get used to these privileged, pigment-challenged high school kids blasting gangsta rap on the sound systems of their BMWs and Mini Coopers as they came roaring through the Dorset Street Historic District to school, slowing their preppy selves down to the twenty-five mph speed limit only because they saw her there. How was it possible
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb

“Warm and cozy...The affable Burger mines town gossip, and Mitry digs into some sordid town history en route to the satisfying resolution.”—Publishers Weekly

“Handler's The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb (following The Snow White Christmas Cookie and The Blood Red Indian Summer) is an excellent addition to the wonderfully whacky and intriguing Des Mitry and Mitch Berger series. It is highly recommended for fans of cold case mysteries and Agatha Christie-like whodunits. It's a playful, eye-opening reminder that one day I will be old. Then my tomb will inevitably follow. I just hope mine isn't made of coal black asphalt. Until then, I'll be waiting impatiently for the next Mitch Berger and Des Mitry mystery.”—Gumshoe Review

“Filled with the colorful characters that David Handler has led us to expect along with great film references, The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb is absolutely fun and charming, and fans of this series are going to want it right away”— Seattle's Mystery Bookshop

Praise for David Handler:

"Neither rain, nor sleet, nor dark of night can keep postmen from their appointed rounds. But how about murder?...Fans of Des and Mitch will giggle as Mitch decorates his Hanukkah bush with her teeny weeny yellow bikini."—Kirkus Reviews on The Show White Christmas Cookie

"Laugh-out-loud humor, zany characters, suspicious deaths and a freezing-cold, holiday setting make David Handler's The Snow White Christmas Cookie a must read. Fans of Christmas mysteries...won't be disappointed."—Gumshoe

"A must read for fans of hilarious crime dramas . . . The Blood Red Indian Summer is a whirlwind of hilarity, mystery . . . and romance. It is best described by a one-word expression that is often used by Mitch Berger's dad, Chat: 'Sa-weet.'" —Gumshoe Review

"Series fans will have fun catching up with the latest twists in the always interesting relationship of this interracial couple." —Publishers Weekly on The Shimmering Blond

"Well paced and cheerfully written, this book has a number of fun perks." —RT Book Reviews (4 stars) on The Shimmering Blond

Praise for The Snow White Christmas Cookie:

"Police procedure frames this complex tale set in small-town Dorset, Connecticut. An appealing mix of procedural and cozy." —Booklist

"Funny, smart and the perfect antidote to the seasonal treacle, The Snow White Christmas Cookie—the ninth novel by David Handler in the excellent Mitch Berger and Desiree Mitry series—turns the Christmas cozy on its head . . . Don’t mistake this for a traditional holiday novel with lots of cute bits. Handler knows how much sugar needs a dose of realism." —The Globe and Mail

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • David Handler

  • DAVID HANDLER is an Edgar Award winner and Anthony, Derringer, and Dilys Award finalist. He has written extensively for television and films. David is the author of Runaway Man, Snow White Christmas Cookie, Blood Red Indian Summer and Shimmering Blond Sister. He lives in a two-hundred-year-old carriage house in Old Lyme, Connecticut.
  • David Handler Photo: D. L. Drake
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb

    A Berger and Mitry Mystery

    Berger and Mitry Mysteries

    David Handler

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK