Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Never Look Back

Never Look Back

Mike Lockyer Novels (Volume 1)

Clare Donoghue

Minotaur Books



In Never Look Back, three young women have been found brutally murdered in south London, their bodies discarded in plain view, the victims only yards away from help during each attack. And each time, the murderer gets a little bit bolder.

Detective Inspector Mike Lockyer is the head of homicide on the South London police force, and with three bodies on his watch and a killer growing in confidence, he and DS Jane Bennett are frantically trying to find the link between these seemingly isolated incidents. Slowly, the case is also invading Lockyer's life outside the office, and the fact that his daughter matches the victim profile is putting a painful strain on their already fragile relationship.

Meanwhile, Sarah Grainger has a shadowy stalker following her every move. Once an outgoing London photographer, Sarah has begun locking herself away, almost too afraid to leave the house. Now her stalker's actions are escalating. He's desperate to tell Sarah a secret…a secret that Lockyer needs to know.

In her compelling and tautly-written debut, Clare Donoghue traces the paths of these captivating, three-dimensional characters as their lives become dangerously and inextricably entwined.


Praise for Never Look Back

“Donoghue melds a stunning plot with rich characterizations and imaginative prose…to create an affecting story that builds to a heart-pounding and heart-wrenching conclusion.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

“An excellent procedural debut with depth of characterization and plenty of suspense.” —Kirkus

“Excellent…Each carefully planned chapter adds to the excitement with its attention to detail. Jane and Mike aren't always in sync, which adds another dimension to the story, and Mike's relationship with his autistic brother adds an interesting aspect to his personality. The climax is shocking and unexpected.” —RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

“A gutsy, gruesome, and compelling thriller.” —Booklist

“Donoghue's ability to generate some scary atmospherics and sympathy for her characters suggests she has what it takes to build a solid detective series.” —Publishers Weekly

“An atmospheric, authentic police story…a cracker of a book.” —Elizabeth Haynes, international bestselling author of Into the Darkest Corner

“Tension so delicious you'll feel your scalp tingle as you read far, far into the night. A compelling debut that blends the dark fog of a London killing spree with characters and descriptions that make you feel like you're reading a newspaper rather than a novel. Bravo!” —Shane Gericke, national bestselling author of Torn Apart

“A scintillating debut. It's clever and compelling, and anchored by a host of vividly drawn characters. But be warned: the end of the novel delivers a series of shocks that will surprise and startle even the most dedicated thriller reader. You won't be able to put this one down.” —David Bell, author of Cemetery Girl

“An assured and shocking debut from a talent to watch.” —David Hewson, author of The Killing

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Clare Donoghue

After ten years in London, working for a City law firm, CLARE DONOGHUE moved back to her home town in Somerset to undertake an MA in creative writing at Bath Spa University. In 2011 the initial chapters of Never Look Back, previously entitled Chasing Shadows, were longlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger award. Never Look Back is Clare's first novel.

Clare Donoghue

Jane Donoghue



    Latest on Facebook


    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook