Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay

The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay

A Novel

Kelly Harms

Thomas Dunne Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover

The perfect feel-good read. Don't miss this delightful novel!" -Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author of Starlight on Willow Lake

Lily Stewart has reached a crossroads in her life. Her painting career hasn't taken off, her best friend has changed beyond recognition, her relationship is a constant disappointment, and now she can't keep up with the rising cost of living in the city. With no one to turn to, Lily is forced to move from her beloved apartment, but while packing she comes across a piece of mail that had slipped to the back of her junk drawer: a letter detailing further action needed to finalize the annulment of a quickie Vegas wedding. From ten years ago!

Lily decides it's time to gather up the pieces of her life, and the first item on her list of things to fix is that annulment... but you can't just send a text ten years later reading, "Hey BTW we are still married." This is something that must be addressed in person, so Lily decides to track down her husband - the charming, enigmatic man she connected with all those years ago.

Ben Hutchinson left a high-profile dot-com lifestyle behind to return home to his family and the small lake town he loves, Minnow Bay. He's been living off the grid with the express purpose of making it hard to be found—so the last thing he expects is a wife he didn't know he had making her presence known.

By chance, Lily finds her way to the magical Minnow Bay Inn. There she will discover not just a place to lay her head, but new friends, new inspiration, and maybe even a new chance to fall in love.

Kelly Harms lights up the page in this story of the surprising beauty of past mistakes and the unexpected pleasures of correcting them.

EXCERPT


TEN YEARS EARLIER


 


“I think I’ve looked at this one too much,” my best friend Renee says to me as we come around the corner and find what I suspect is Magritte’s most annoying...

Reviews

Praise for The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay

"This is a funny story about second chances at romance and life and is a great summer time read." -Amy Phelps, Parkersburg News and Sentinel

“Delightful, and sure to captivate readers and gain new fans for author Kelly Wimmer Harms. Sparkling dialogue and a winning heroine, who finds her big-girl panties amid the disaster zone her life has become and head in a new direction, finding love along the way, it had me turning the pages into the night.”—Eileen Goudge, New York Times bestselling author of Garden of Lies

“Kelly Harms writes with such tender insight about change, saying goodbye to her beloved yet troubled city life and hurtling into the delicious unknown. Her characters sparkle; I loved Lily and wished I could have coffee with her in the enchanted town of Minnow Bay”.--Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author

“In The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay, Lily Stewart is Shopaholic's Becky Bloomwood meets Capote's Holly Golightly. This charming tale is filled to the brim with eccentric characters, uproarious predicaments, and a charming (if not chilly!) setting. Kelly Harms has created the most lovable character in Lily, a starving artist with a penchant for disaster and a completely unbreakable spirit. One for the beach chair!"-Kate Moretti, New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year

"The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay thoroughly entertains as it explores friendship, flings, and finally finding yourself. Harms tells the story in a funny, fresh voice ideal for this charming coming-into-her-age novel."- Christie Ridgway, USA Today bestselling author of the Beach House No. 9 and Cabin Fever series

"I loved this book! Fresh and devastatingly funny, The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay is romantic comedy at its very best. The talented Kelly Harms is one to watch."- Colleen Oakley, author of Before I Go

“Sometimes you read a book that hits all the right notes: funny, charismatic, romantic, and empowering. The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay is that book. Kelly Harms’s enchanting writing lured me into the quiet, yet complicated world of Minnow Bay and I never wanted to leave. I loved it in every way!”-- Amy Reichert, author of Luck, Love & Lemon Pie

“Filled with witty dialogue and an unforgettable cast of characters, The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay, is a complete charmer. I rooted for Lily from the first page and didn't want to leave the magical town of Minnow Bay. Kelly Harms delivers another heartwarming novel that lifts the spirit.”-Anita Hughes, author of Santorini Sunsets

"In The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay, Kelly Harms weaves together a small town and big dreams into a delightful and heartfelt tapestry of friendship, love, and getting what you deserve, in the way you least expect. I was hooked from page one, then laughed out loud and teared up while reading---exactly what I want from romantic women's fiction. Kelly Harms is the real deal."--Amy Sue Nathan, author of The Good Neighbor and The Glass Wives

“Kelly Harms has once again written the kind of characters you want to be friends with--funny, loyal, and lovably flawed--all set against a charming canvas of small town life”.-Susan Gloss, author of Vintage

"Harms has penned a fanciful and amusing book, with a likable heroine who will have readers cheering for her happy ending." -Christie Ridgway

The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay is a glorious read, full of heart and humor. Lily is the kind of character you’ll root for to the end, and the delightful residents of Minnow Bay will keep you chuckling with each turn of the page. Kelly Harms is a talented author with a knack for writing a story you’ll want to read again and again."-Darien Gee, bestselling author of Friendship Bread, The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society and An Avalon Christmas

“The temperature in Minnow Bay, Wisconsin may be cold, but its people are anything but. Kelly Harms has created a world so real and so inviting that you absolutely will not want to leave. The Matchmakers of Minnow Bay proves that a little small-town meddling never hurt anyone and that, sometimes, it takes a village to fall in love. Kelly Harms has done it again!—Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of Dear Carolina and Lies and Other Acts of Love

"Harms uses the local gossip mill to cleverly fuel vital plot points, and strong secondary characters help bolster Lily’s journey of personal growth. Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Mary Simses, and Jennifer Close will adore this clever and witty story of self reinvention and the power of clarity."--Booklist

Praise for The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane

“A delicious concoction of reality and fairy tale--the ideal summer book! You'll feel lucky for having read it. And after meeting her, I guarantee you will want a great-aunt Midge of your very own.” —Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author

“Warm-hearted and funny, The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane pulls you in with quirky yet relatable characters, intriguing relationships, and the promise of second chances. Harms's debut is as refreshingly delightful as a bowl of her character Janey's chilled pea soup with mint on a hot summer day.” —Meg Donohue, bestselling author of How to Eat a Cupcake: A Novel

“Funny, original and delightfully quirky, Kelly Harms's The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane shows us that sometimes, all we need to make it through one of life's rough patches is a change of scenery and a home-cooked meal.” —Molly Shapiro, author of Point, Click, Love: A Novel

“The characters are so well drawn that they practically leap from the page, charming dysfunction and all! A poignant, hilarious debut that's filled with heart, soul, insight and laugh-out-loud moments. It'll make you rethink the meaning of what makes a family -- and if you're anything like me, it'll make you want to pick up and move to 1516 Shipwreck Lane immediately! I'm such a fan of this utterly charming novel” —Kristin Harmel, international-bestselling author of Italian for Beginners and The Sweetness of Forgetting

“It'll make you rethink the meaning of what makes a family -- and if you're anything like me, it'll make you want to pick up and move to 1516 Shipwreck Lane immediately! I'm such a fan of this utterly charming novel.” —Kristin Harmel, international-bestselling author of Italian for Beginners and The Sweetness of Forgetting

“Kelly Harms's The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane is a delightful book bursting with good humor, fast action, and delicious food. Aunt Midge is a pure joy, and I loved Wimmer's surprising, spirited, and generous slant on what it takes to make a family.” —Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Breeze

“Janey and Nean each have a common name and uncommon hard luck, and when they suddenly have in common a sweepstakes house, their lives begin to change in ways neither of them could have imagined. Their quirky wit will win you over, even as they fumble through their crazy new life. THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS OF SHIPWRECK LANE is alive with warmth and wit; I enjoyed it right through to the satisfying end.” —Kristina Riggle, author of Real Life & Liars, The Life You've Imagined, Things We Didn't Say and Keepsake

“A succession of plot twists keeps the reader intrigued and invested. In the manner of Mary Kay Andrews and Jennifer Weiner, Harms' novel is emotionally tender, touching, and witty.” —Booklist

“[A] charming winner…A perfect recipe of clever, quirky, poignant and fun make this a delightful debut.” —Kirkus

“Spunky leading ladies that you can take to the beach.” —Fitness Magazine

“Former editor and agent Harms seems to have picked up some tips from the best-selling commercial authors with whom she has worked; there's big in-house enthusiasm for this debut. Great for book clubs.” —Library Journal

“Harms is an engaging and good-humored writer who delivers a light but enjoyably wacky story that will make every reader wish for an Aunt Midge of their own.” —Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters

“Love, lies, food, and past and present triumphs and sorrows deliciously intertwine in Madison author Kelly Harms's debut novel about accepting second chances.” —Madison Magazine

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Kelly Harms

KELLY HARMS is a former editor and literary agent who has worked with a wide array of bestselling and award-winning authors of commercial fiction. She traded New York City for the writing life in Madison, Wisconsin, where she lives with her adorable and sometimes imperious son Griffin. The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane is her first novel.

Kelly Harms

Lea Wolf

From the Publisher

Thomas Dunne Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER