Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone

Legacy of Orisha (Volume 1)

Tomi Adeyemi

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)


With four starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” Teen Vogue




It’s all I can do not to scream. I dig my nails into the marula oak of my staff and squeeze to keep from fidgeting. Beads of sweat drip down my back, but I can’t tell if...

Praise for Children of Blood and Bone

“A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut.” New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"Powerful, captivating, and raw—Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"... Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir." Booklist, Starred Review

"...A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." SLJ, Starred Review

Reviews from Goodreads

Tomi Adeyemi

Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is the author of Children of Blood and Bone.

image of Tomi Adeyemio
Elena Seibert

Meet the Author

March 5-31, 2018

Meet Tomi Adeyemi as she reads from her debut novel Children of Blood and Bone, the first volume in the Legacy of Orisha fantasy series.


Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook