Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Moon by Night

The Moon by Night

Austin Family (Volume 2)

Madeleine L'Engle; Read by Maggi-Meg Reed

Macmillan Young Listeners



Digital Audio


Macmillan Young Listeners

Macmillan Audio


ISBN: 9781427205803


Apple iTunes

In The Moon By Night, we find the Austin children—Vicky, John, Suzy, and Rob—unhappy at the prospect of leaving their beloved Connecticut house and moving into an apartment in New York City.

In order to cushion the change, the Austin parents decide to take the whole family on a trip to California to visit Uncle Douglas and Aunt Elena. They'll drive out to California, camping along the way, and avoid hotels as much as possible. There is a great deal of care spent getting just the right equipment for the trip, and off the family starts.

It is a marvelous trip—different, exciting, fun. But the trip also brings problems to everyone in the family, and especially to Vicky when she meets Zachary. He's a troubled and troubling boy who, against the wishes of her family, attaches himself to Vicky.

How Vicky meets the challenges of the trip and of her interest in Zachary and in another boy, Andy, who becomes Zachary's rival, make up the body of this warmly appealing story of family life.

Horn Book Magazine Fanfare List


The Moon By Night

It was John's voice and he was calling for me. I suppose somewhere on the inside of my mind I realized it, but with the outside of my mind all I heard was the constant crying of sea gulls...


Praise for The Moon by Night

“The Austin family spends the summer on a cross-country camping trip...Vicky, now 'almost 15,' tells the story, and the reader feels a strong personal identification with the thoughts and emotions of this age group through her story.” —School Library Journal

About the author

Madeleine L'Engle; Read by Maggi-Meg Reed

Madeleine L'Engle (1918–2007) was born in New York City and attended Smith College. She wrote more than 60 books, the most famous of which is A Wrinkle In Time (1962), winner of the Newbery Award in 1963. L'Engle continued the story of the Murry family from A Wrinkle In Time with seven other novels (five of which are available as A Wrinkle In Time Quintent from Square Fish). She also wrote the famous series featuring the Austin family, beginning with the novel Meet The Austins (1960). L'Engle revisited the Austins four more times over the next three decades, concluding with Troubling a Star in 1994. The story of the Austins had some autobiographical elements, mirroring Madeleine's life and the life of her family. Madeleine L'Engle's last book, The Joys of Love, is a romantic, coming-of-age story she wrote back in the 1940s, and is being published by FSG.

Madeleine L'Engle

Photo by Sigrid Estrada

Maggi-Meg Reed