OVERRIDE

The Midnight Charter

The Agora Trilogy (Volume 1)

David Whitley; Read by Simon Vance

Macmillan Young Listeners

In a society based on trade, where everything can be bought and sold, the future rests on the secrets of a single document-and the lives of two children whose destiny it is to discover its secrets. In this spellbinding novel, newcomer David Whitley has imagined a nation at a crossroads: misshaped by materialism and facing a choice about its future. He has brought to life two children who will test the nation's values-and crafted a captivating adventure story that will keep readers turning the pages until the very end.
 
For readers who love Philip Pullman, THE MIDNIGHT CHARTER combines great storytelling with a compelling vision - a many layered adventure with powerful and timely implications.

BOOK EXCERPTS

BACK

MEDIA

Watch

  • David Whitley on The Midnight Charter

    Author David Whitley speaks about The Midnight Charter

  • The Midnight Charter by David Whitley--Audiobook Excerpt

    Listen to this audiobook excerpt from David Whitley's children's fantasy novel The Midnight Charter. In a society based on trade, where everything can be bought and sold, the future rests on the secrets of a single document-and the lives of two children whose destiny it is to discover its secrets. In this spellbinding novel, newcomer David Whitley has imagined a nation at a crossroads: misshaped by materialism and facing a choice about its future.

BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Midnight Charter

"Young readers who enjoy tales of mystery and fantasy will find much to admire in Whitley's story...
Simon Vance's thoughtful, unrushed narration is the perfect foil for the book's brooding atmosphere. Vance is a master narrator who brings characters of every type to life." - AudioFile
 
"[Simon Vance's] skill is his ability to provide just the perfect pace and emphasis to convey wonder and amazement as well as dismay and disbelief... His almost imperceptible change in pacing, pitch, and rhythm perfectly conveys the author's intent." - Voya Voice of Youth Advocates

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • David Whitley; Read by Simon Vance

  • David Whitley, a recent graduate of Oxford, wrote his first children's novel at age 17; it was shortlisted for the Kathleen Fidler Award. At 20, he was the youngest person ever to win the Cheshire Prize for Literature for a children's short story. He lives in England.  

    Simon Vance is the critically acclaimed narrator of approximately 400 audiobooks, winner of forty-one AudioFile Earphones Awards, and a six-time Audie recipient. He was the winner of the 2012 Audie Award for Best Male Narrator, and was named the 2011 Best Voice in Biography and History and the 2010 Best Voice in fiction by AudioFile magazine. Simon was named a "Golden Voice" by Audiofile Magazine, and Booklist Magazine named him their "Voice of Choice"

  • David Whitley
  • Simon Vance
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

The Midnight Charter

The Agora Trilogy

David Whitley; Read by Simon Vance

Audie Award Finalist
BACK