OVERRIDE

Power Down

A Dewey Andreas Novel

Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann

Macmillan Audio

  • Buy it now
Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia—slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform—and that was the Capitana crew chief Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun.  While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna—an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business—sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas—who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him. Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

POWER DOWN
(Chapter 1:CAPITANA TERRITORYPACIFIC OCEANAT 290 MILES OFF THE COAST OF COLOMBIA)

A hundred miles above the equator, a day's trip by boat from the nearest land, in a place where ocean currents collide beneath a vast horizon of black water and starry sky, a 1,500-foot double flame helix smoldered furiously from the cap end of an alloy gas fountain.

It was midnight. The flames could be seen for miles in all directions, interrupting the desolate waters in spectacular orange and black clouds. Though the billowing smoke and fire had the appearance of chaos, they were in fact controlled

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

MEDIA

Watch

  • Power Down by Ben Coes--Audiobook Excerpt

    Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Ben Coes' thriller novel Power Down, introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas. A hydroelectric dam blows up and the largest off-shore oil field in the hemisphere is destroyed, killing legions of Americans and bringing the country's largest energy company to its knees.

BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Power Down

“… Hermann ultimately manages to bring to life a hero who has no hesitation in killing and who is suspicious of nearly everyone who tries to help. Well done, Coes and Hermann both – don’t make us wait too long for the next appearance of this dynamic character. ” – Library Journal Starred Review, Best Audiobooks of 2010
 
 
“Peter Hermann's powerful narration—enhanced by sounds of rapid gunfire, explosions, and the moans of victims—is a perfect fit for Ben Coe's debut thriller.” – AudioFile Magazine
“… Hermann ultimately manages to bring to life a hero who has no hesitation in killing and who is suspicious of nearly everyone who tries to help. Well done, Coes and Hermann both – don’t make us wait too long for the next appearance of this dynamic character. ” – Library Journal Starred Review, Best Audiobooks of 2010
 
 
“Peter Hermann's powerful narration—enhanced by sounds of rapid gunfire, explosions, and the moans of victims—is a perfect fit for Ben Coe's debut thriller.” – AudioFile Magazine

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann

  • BEN COES is a former speechwriter for the White House, was a fellow at the JFK School of Government at Harvard, a campaign manager for Mitt Romney's 2002 Gubernatorial Campaign. Power Down is his first novel. He lives with his family in Wellesley, MA.
  • Ben Coes
    Ben Coes
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Power Down

A Dewey Andreas Novel

Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Macmillan Audio

BACK