Evanly Bodies

Constable Evans Mysteries (Volume 10)

Rhys Bowen

Minotaur Books

Detective Constable Evan Evans and his new bride, Bronwen, are settling into married life in their little cottage above the village of Llanfair when they meet the daughter of one of the village’s newest families, a sixteen-year-old Pakistani girl named Jamila. Bronwen and Jamila are becoming good friends when Jamila finds out from her parents that they have arranged a marriage for her back in Pakistan. Evans tries to convince her family not to enforce the custom, arguing that Jamila is a normal Welsh teenager, but just as the tensions increase, the girl suddenly vanishes. Bronwen is distraught, but there’s no trace of her.
At work, Evans is investigating the murder of a man shot to death through the open window of his home while eating breakfast. After the man’s wife is jailed as a suspect, a second man is killed---and then a third---and Evans and his team are on the hunt for a serial killer. But they can’t seem to find any connections between the three men….
In the surprising climax of Edgar Award finalist Rhys Bowen’s tenth Constable Evans mystery, Evans risks everything to solve the murders and discover what happened to Jamila. All in all, the novel is a triumph for fans of Bowen’s acclaimed Evans series, and a wonderful discovery for new readers.


Read an Excerpt

Chapter One 
It was the postman who noticed it first. As he careened down Llanfair's one and only street, half in control of his motorbike and half not, he glanced at the small row of shops to his left. The village boasted three shops and a petrol pump. First in line of shops was a butcher, g. evans, ciggyd, the Welsh word for "butcher" in large letters, and then purveyor of fine meats in tiny ones; then r. evans, dairy products. These two had been known locally for years as Evans-the-Meat and Evans-the-Milk, respectively. Only the last store in the line, t. harris, grocer and sub-post


Praise for Evanly Bodies

Praise for Rhys Bowen and the Evan Evans Mysteries
"The author's cozily intimate style, unusual setting, and modest, down-home hero...make for satisfying entertainment."
---Kirkus Reviews
"Bowen keeps the suspense slowly building to a satisfying and tidy conclusion."
---Publishers Weekly on Evan Blessed
"A fine sense of place, a compelling dual story line, and a cast of sympathetic, well-drawn characters give this small-town police procedural plenty of appeal."
---Booklist on Evan's Gate
"Another charming entry in a series that shows no signs of growing stale."
---Denver Post on Evan Only Knows
"Storytelling at its best with well-drawn, engaging characters and a vivid sense of place. A definite winner."
---Peter Robinson, author of Playing with Fire, on Evan Only Knows
"A winning series."
---Publishers Weekly on Evan Only Knows

Reviews from Goodreads



  • Rhys Bowen

  • Rhys Bowen is the author of ten books in the Evan Evans series as well as four in the Molly Murphy series, including Murphy's Law, which won the Agatha Award for Best Novel and the Herodotus for Best First Historical Novel; Death of Riley, an Agatha finalist; For the Love of Mike, a finalist for the Macavity and Anthony Awards; and most recently, Oh Danny Boy. Evan's Gate, the seventh Evans novel, was a finalist for the prestigious Edgar Award. She lives in San Rafael, California. Visit her Web site at https://jqh.home.netcom.com. 
  • Rhys Bowen Photo: John Quin-Harkin
    Rhys Bowen





    Available Formats and Book Details

    Evanly Bodies

    Constable Evans Mysteries

    Rhys Bowen

    • e-Book



    Minotaur Books