Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
When Christ and His Saints Slept

When Christ and His Saints Slept

A Novel

Plantagenet Series (Volume 1)

Sharon Kay Penman

Henry Holt and Co.



In When Christ and His Saints Slept, the newest addition to her highly acclaimed novels of the middle ages, and the first of a trilogy that will tell the story of Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine, master storyteller and historian Sharon Kay Penman illuminates one of the less-known but fascinating periods of English history. It begins with the death of King Henry I, son of William the Conqueror and father of Maude, his only living legitimate offspring.


Praise for When Christ and His Saints Slept

“The magnificent combination of history and humanity that Penman's readers have come to expect again animates her latest work ... Perhaps the most impressive feature of the narrative is Penman's skill in showing how essentially good people can end up doing great evil.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Penman inventively animates a large cast.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Penman ... showcases her mastery of the historical novel in this long and thoroughly engrossing study of pragmatic politics, idealism, and the role of women during the 12th century. She brings to life a vast array of unforgettable characters.” —Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Sharon Kay Penman

Sharon Kay Penman is the author of six critically acclaimed historical novels and four medieval mysteries, one of which was a finalist for an Edgar Award for Best First Mystery from the Mystery Writers of America.

Sharon Kay Penman