OVERRIDE

SPQR XII: Oracle of the Dead

The SPQR Roman Mysteries (Volume 12)

John Maddox Roberts

Minotaur Books

Decius Caecilius Metellus, this year's magistrate for cases involving foreigners, is living the good life in southern Italy, happy to be away from Rome, a city suffering war jitters over Caesar's impending actions. He thinks he is merely visiting one of the local sights when he takes a party to visit the Oracle of the Dead, a pre-Roman cult site located at the end of a tunnel dug beneath a temple of Apollo. He quickly learns that there is a bitter rivalry between the priests of Apollo and those of Hecate, who guard the oracle.
When the priests of Apollo are all killed, the countryside looks to explode in violence as Greeks, Romans and native Italians of several conquered nations bring out old enmities.  Decius is caught squarely in the middle, desperate to find a way out that will pacify the district and, incidentally, save his own skin. 
 
This riveting series began with the Edgar Award-nominated SPQR and has gone on to international success in 13 languages.



 

REVIEWS

Praise for SPQR XII: Oracle of the Dead

"Metellus puts his own life at risk in an exciting case that engages the attention of Pompey himself."
--Publishers Weekly
 
"The 12th Decius mystery is as crisp and absorbing as its predecessors."
--Kirkus Reviews
 
"Roberts's 12th Roman mystery is a believable story of murder, greed, and the political nimbleness necessary to stay alive in ancient Rome. Sure to appeal to readers of Lindsay Davis and Albert A. Bell."
--Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • John Maddox Roberts

  • John Maddox Roberts is the author of several science fiction, private eye, and fantasy novels, in addition to his popular SPQR mystery series. He lives in New Mexico.
  • John Maddox Roberts Photo: Elizabeth Roberts
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    SPQR XII: Oracle of the Dead

    The SPQR Roman Mysteries

    John Maddox Roberts

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK