OVERRIDE

Halo

Halo Trilogy

Alexandra Adornetto

Feiwel & Friends

Three angels are sent down to bring good to the world: Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, a teenage girl who is the least experienced of the trio. But she is the most human, and when she is romantically drawn to a mortal boy, the angels fear she will not be strong enough to save anyone—especially herself—from the Dark Forces.

Is love a great enough power against evil?

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1
Descent
OUR arrival didn’t exactly go as planned. I remember it was almost dawn when we landed because the streetlights were still on. We had hoped our descent would go unnoticed, which it mainly did, save for a thirteen-year-old boy doing a paper round.
He was on his bicycle with the newspapers rolled like batons in plastic wrap. It was misty and the boy was wearing a hooded jacket. He seemed to be playing a mental game with himself to estimate where exactly he could get each paper to land. The newspapers hit the driveways and verandas with a thud, and the boy smiled smugly whenever
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

MEDIA

Watch

  • Halo by Alexandra Adornetto - Book Trailer

    Watch the book trailer for the first entry in this new trilogy!

  • An Author Q&A with Alexandra Adornetto

    Get to know Australian eighteen-year-old Alexandra Adornetto, the author of HALO.

BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Halo

“Her [Adornetto’s] dialogue feels fresh and real, pulled from the mouths of her peers without any cultural markers necessary to prove relevance. . . . If it were not for young adult readers like her, the Y.A. boom never would have happened and publishing would be much gloomier.”The New York Times Book Review

“These angels are the optimistic, hope-filled cousins of the tormented fallen angels in other paranormal romances. . . . Xavier is gorgeous, honorable and so protective of Bethany that you’ll be crushing on him after the first chapter.” –Justine magazine

“A compelling novel of good and evil that will find an audience among girls who can’t get enough of otherworldly characters and situations and heart-wrenching romance.” –School Library Journal

“The 17-year-old author’s angel mythology is solid . . . there never seem to be enough lengthy tomes to satisfy the legions of paranormal-romance fans, and this first title of a planned trilogy fits the bill.” –Booklist

“This is the first book of a trilogy. The next installment is Hades, due in the Fall of 2011. Look for it. Doubtless it will be another winner.” –New York Journal of Books

"Halo was absolutely brilliant! I am in complete love with Halo! The characters are so complex and the plot is a rollercoaster you will not want to get off of. The writing is so intricate yet it is read with an ease that one can truly appreciate. Adornetto has raw talent and I can’t wait for the next novel in the series to come out!" —Moonlight Book Reviews

 
"Halo is addictive, passionate and coarse with vibrancy. Alexandra Adornetto has drawn a beautiful start to what I can only imagine will be an epic trilogy." —Book Crazy
 
"I was swept away when I was reading Halo. The setting is beautiful and the characters quickly captured my heart." —YA Book Addict
 
"It's one of those stories you want to live in... feel what they feel... all of that. It's just a beautifully written story." —The Ninja Librarian

Praise for Alexandra Adornetto:
“A wonderful novel of the old-fashioned style that will have youngsters asking for more.”—Reading Time review for The Shadow Thief
 
“Adornetto writes vividly…As well as being humorous, the writing is often sophisticated…original and sparkling.”—Viewpoint for The Shadow Thief

“…an exceptional debut novel, it hurtles along in leaps and bounds, and sparkles with originality. Alexandra Adornetto’s flare for the English language is fast-paced and refreshing, and her story tell recalls that of J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan.”—Invernell Times (Invernell, AU) for The Shadow Thief

“Fans of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events will delight in a new Australian series, The Strangest Adventures, the offers a similar blend of adventure, fantasy, and humor…an accomplished first novel made all the more remarkable considering it was written when Adornetto was thirteen.”—Magpies for The Shadow Thief

The Lampo Circus has great charm not because it has been written by such a young person but because it actually has great charm.”— Sunday Age (Melbourne, AU) for The Lampo Circus

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Alexandra Adornetto

  • Alexandra Adornetto was only fourteen when she published her first book, The Shadow Thief, in Australia. Halo was her U.S. debut and debuted in Fall 2010 on The New York Times bestseller list a week after it was published. It has been published in over twenty countries. The daughter of two English teachers, she admits to being a compulsive book buyer who has run out of shelf space, and now stacks her reading “in wobbly piles on my bedroom floor.” Originally from Melbourne, Australia, Ally is now a college student in the U.S.
  • Alexandra Adornetto Bill Backman
    Alexandra Adornetto
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Halo

Halo Trilogy

Alexandra Adornetto

American Library Association Popular Paperbacks for Young Re, IRA Young Adult Choices, Pacific Northwest Library Association Young Reader's Choice
BACK