OVERRIDE

Kings of Midnight

Crissa Stone Novels

Wallace Stroby

Minotaur Books

Crissa Stone is a career criminal who has pulled a number of impressive heists by knowing how to keep her mouth shut and her temper in check. Still, as good as she is, she wants to get out of the life. All she needs is one last big score, enough to bribe her lover’s way out on parole, set up a safe and stable new life, and get her daughter back. However, things keep going wrong, like when her last two partners lost their cool and fought over the take instead of walking away $150K richer. The mess they made of the job and each other has put her on the run again.

She’s not the only one. Benny Roth, a former mobster, has been straight for years, but now he has his own problems. A face from the past has popped up to tell him that boss Joey Dio is finally dead and to ask about the five million dollars that Joey was rumored to have stashed away years ago. Benny denies knowing anything about it and claims he’s out of the business. That may be what he says, but he’s willing to risk almost everything for one last shot.

With the law and mobsters on the lookout and five million dollars on the line, it isn’t long before Crissa and Benny find themselves on a collision course that neither of them can avoid. This hard-boiled world, where the stakes---and the risks---are always high, unfolds at breakneck speed in Kings of Midnight, another dark and thrilling masterwork of crime fiction from Wallace Stroby.


BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

ONE

Crissa pulled the ski mask over her face, shifted the front-end loader into neutral, looked across the blacktop at the ATM, the redbrick bank beyond. Heat lightning pulsed on the horizon.

The loader chugged and shook around her, the vibration coming up through her boots. With a gloved hand, she cleared condensation from the windscreen. At the far edge of the parking lot, near the trees, Hollis flashed the headlights of the stolen pickup.

She worked the bucket control lever with her right hand, heard the mechanism clank and hum. The bucket rose slowly. She’d stolen

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Kings of Midnight

Praise for Kings of Midnight

“The. . .power lies in Wallace Stroby’s uncannily exact imagery, precise language, and narrative credibility. Stroby’s depiction of heists is so believable you almost wonder if writing is just a sideline for him. . .Economy of language has been a key element of crime fiction since the days of Dashiell Hammett, but Stroby makes it feels fresh and vital again. . . Kings of Midnight is remarkable for its stylistic rigor. There’s not a word out of place, no detail that isn’t essential to the story. . .This is what hard-boiled writing should be.”
Los Angeles Review of Books

“Stroby seems to get better book by book. This one offers plenty of excitement and plot twists, a solid body count, and vividly drawn characters. Crissa is crime fiction’s best career criminal since Richard Stark’s Parker. . .The Kings of Midnight puts Stroby in the same league as Stark (a pseudonym for Donald E. Westlake) and other exemplars of hard-edged crime.”
Booklist (starred review)

“As coolly efficient and professional as its heroine, this thriller evokes Donald Westlake’s Parker novels with lean storytelling that pauses only for meticulously detailed descriptions of criminals at work or in conflict.”
—Publishers Weekly

Praise for Wallace Stroby

"Cold Shot to the Heart moves at a break-neck speed. . .Fans of Elmore Leonard and George V. Higgins’s The Friends of Eddie Coyle will find much to like.”
—Oline H. Cogdill, Chicago Tribune on Cold Shot to the Heart

“Another fast, taut winner from Stroby. As for Crissa, she may be crime fiction’s best bad girl ever."
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on Cold Shot to the Heart

“Just when you think that you can’t be surprised anymore, a writer like Wallace Stroby ups the ante.”
—Laura Lippman on Cold Shot to the Heart

“This hard-boiled novel, filled with believable characters, puts author Wallace Stroby in the company of noir masters like Dashiell Hammett and Elmore Leonard.”
—The Huffington Post on Gone ’til November

“A scorching first novel that mixes the melancholic heart of tough-guy fiction with a fierce and violent gangster plot.”
The Washington Post Book World on The Barbed-Wire Kiss

“Stroby does wonders with his blue-collar characters.”
The New York Times Book Review on The Barbed-Wire Kiss

In the Press

KINGS OF MIDNIGHT by Wallace Stroby | Kirkus Book Reviews
Read the Kirkus Review of KINGS OF MIDNIGHT . Chasing her retirement number, superthief Crissa Stone (<em>Cold Shot to the Heart,<em> 2011, etc.) fills bunches of money bags. And body bags.
- Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Wallace Stroby

  • WALLACE STROBY is an award-winning journalist and a former editor at The Star-Ledger in Newark, New Jersey. This is his fifth novel, following the acclaimed Cold Shot to the Heart and the Barry Award finalist The Barbed-Wire Kiss. He lives in New Jersey.

  • Wallace Stroby Donna Washburn
    Wallace Stroby
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Kings of Midnight

Crissa Stone Novels

Wallace Stroby

Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year
BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Minotaur Books

BACK