OVERRIDE

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

And Other Warped and Creepy Tales

Weenies Stories

David Lubar

Starscape

A boy discovers the answer to one of the great urban mysteries: why are pigeons always pooping in parks? A second-grade class learns why they should always be nice to their math teacher….An ancient predator uses the internet to search out its prey… A young girl and her little brother escape a campfire weenie only to encounter something even more terrifying: a troupe of Girl Scouts singing campfire songs.

 

For this, his third collection of warped and creepy “weenie” tales, critically-acclaimed author and master of the macabre David Lubar traveled deep into the shadowy corners of his mind, looking for new ways to amuse and terrify his readers. And in the tradition of In the Land of the Lawn Weenies and Invasion of the Road Weenies, he reveals the inspiration behind each of the thirty-five stories at the end of the book.


At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Curse of the Campfire Weenies
MR. HOOHAA!I can stare a werewolf in the face and laugh. I can step up to a vampire and shake his cold, undead hand without trembling. No problem. I've sat through every horror movie that's ever come to our town and visited dozens of Halloween haunted houses. Monsters don't even make me twitch. But clowns creep me out big-time.That usually isn't a problem. I mean, most days, you just aren't going to run into a guy with a round red nose, a huge painted smile, and wild green hair unless you live in a circus town or something. But my little brother's birthday was coming
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

Praise for Invasion of the Road Weenies:
"Lubar strikes again. Another winning round-up."--Booklist
 
"This spring's most coveted title."--The Arizona Republic
 
"Pleasingly short, well-crafted pieces…mixes the comic and the creepy, the merely weird with the truly haunting. "--San Francisco Chronicle
 
"Whether read alone under the covers with a flashlight, or shared in a darkened classroom on a rainy day, these tales will elicit their fair share of chills, thrills, and nervous laughter, and keep readers looking over their shoulders in broad daylight."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • David Lubar

  • David Lubar created a sensation with his debut novel, Hidden Talents, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. Thousands of kids and educators across the country have voted Hidden Talents onto over twenty state lists. David is also the author of True Talents, the sequel to Hidden Talents; Flip, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults and a VOYA Best Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror selection; five short story collections, including In the Land of the Lawn Weenies, Invasion of the Road Weenies, The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies, and Attack of the Vampire Weenies; and the Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie series. Lubar grew up in Morristown, New Jersey, and he has also lived in New Brunswick, Edison, and Piscataway, NJ, and Sacramento, CA. Besides writing, he has also worked as a video game programmer and designer. He now lives in Nazareth, Pennsylvania.
  • David Lubar Joelle Lubar
    David Lubar
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

And Other Warped and Creepy Tales

Weenies Stories

David Lubar

Kansas State Reading Circle, NYPL Books for the Teen Age
BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Starscape

BACK