The Price of Spring

Fifteen years have passed since the devastating war between the Galt Empire and the cities of the Khaiem in which the Khaiem’s poets and their magical power known as “andat” were destroyed, leaving the women of the Khaiem and the men of Galt infertile.

The emperor of the Khaiem tries to form a marriage alliance between his son and the daughter of a Galtic lord, hoping the Khaiem men and Galtic women will produce a new generation to help create a peaceful future.

But Maati, a poet who has been in hiding for years, driven by guilt over his part in the disastrous end of the war, defies tradition and begins training female poets. With Eiah, the emperor’s daughter, helping him, he intends to create andat, to restore the world as it was before the war.

Vanjit, a woman haunted by her family’s death in the war, creates a new andat. But hope turns to ashes as her creation unleashes a power that cripples all she touches.

As the prospect of peace dims under the lash of Vanjit’s creation, Maati and Eiah try to end her reign of terror. But time is running out for both the Galts and the Khaiem.

At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.


Praise for The Price of Spring

Praise for An Autumn War:
“Will keep you turning pages and break your heart in the bargain.”—GEORGE R. R. MARTIN, NEW YORK TIMES #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR

“Heart-stoppingly surprising and exciting.”

“By daring to destroy his subcreation, Abraham regenerates an entire mode of fantasy.”

“New readers will find Abraham’s deft storytelling style accessible, but returning fans will most appreciate the growth of the world and the characters.”

“An Autumn War builds on the first two books to deliver one of the most stunning punches I have ever seen in fantasy. I urge you to buy, borrow or check out from the library the first two books so you’ll be ready for An Autumn War when it comes out next year. As for Abraham, he’s outdone himself and the rest of us with this book. I await the fourth book in the Long Price Quartet with a certain amount of awe.” —JAY LAKE, AUTHOR OF MAINSPRING 

"There is much to love in the Long Price Quartet. It is epic in scope, but character-centered. The setting is unique yet utterly believable. The storytelling is smooth, careful, and—best of all—unpredictable. The first two books impressed me, but An Autumn War surpassed them, leaving me stunned and wondering where Abraham will take me in the fourth book . . . ."­—PATRICK ROTHFUSS, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE NAME OF THE WIND

“I already knew Daniel Abraham was an excellent writer.  An Autumn War is his best novel yet:  his quiet compassion for humanity slams hard against his clear-eyed depiction of the ruthless progress of war and the bitter choices people must often make to protect their own.  Highly recommended.” —KATE ELLIOTT, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CROSSROADS  AND CROWN OF STARS

“To call Daniel Abraham an exciting new author is to wildly understate the case.  An Autumn War, like his entire Long Price Quartet, is utterly original and incredibly seductive.  But I have to give you a warning:  DO NOT READ THIS BOOK.  If you do, it will absolutely KILL you to wait for the next one!”—HUGO AND NEBULA AWARD-WINNER CONNIE WILLIS

"Abraham's series gets more mind-expanding with every book. An Autumn War ratchets up the tension and then delivers a stunning ending that will leave you gasping for breath, wondering what bowling ball just slammed you in the skull. Yes, it is that good."—WALTER JON WILLIAMS, AUTHOR OF IMPLIED SPACES

“Daniel Abraham is one of the finest young fantasists working today. An Autumn War stirs many emotions and will long echo in the heart and mind of readers.”—PARRISH JOHNSTON, BORDERS BOOKS

Reviews from Goodreads



  • Daniel Abraham

  • DANIEL ABRAHAM won the International Horror Award for best short story, “Flat Diane.” His previous novels include A Shadow in Summer, A Betrayal in Winter, and An Autumn War, the first three volumes of the Long Price Quartet. He has been a finalist for the Hugo Award and the World Fantasy Award. He is also the author of the Wild Cards comic book miniseries The Hard Call, and coauthor, with George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, of the novel Hunter’s Run. He lives in New Mexico.

  • Daniel Abraham Kat Abraham





    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Price of Spring

    The Long Price Quartet

    Daniel Abraham

    Locus Awards - Nominee
    • e-Book



    Tor Books