OVERRIDE

Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage

Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

Roaring Brook Press

When the sensible, reliable and always tidy Clover Twig goes to work for a messy witch, she discovers that the witch's cottage has quite a few secrets hiding inside of it!  

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

CLOVER TWIG and the Magical Cottage
Chapter OneWonted. Storng gril to cleen.Clover Twig stood at the garden gate, staring in at the Witch's cottage--and the cottage stared right back. The windows were like black eyes--small, dark, and sunken. Ivy drooped over them, like hooded eyelids.The gate was secured with a loop of old string. Clover pulled it free and gave a brisk push. The gateremained firmly closed. She pushed again. The gate said: "Take the hand off!"The voice came from deep within the bars. It sounded bossy, like a guard in a museum who has spotted you blowing your nose on a priceless
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage

Fans of Roald Dahl or Eva Ibbotson may enjoy discovering the secret of the magical cottage along with Clover.” —School Library Journal

“A rambunctious plot, lashings of corny and delightful wordplay, and an original supporting cast contribute to the fun.” —The Horn Book

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

  • Kaye Umansky is the author of over 130 books for young readers. She lives in London with a nice  husband (Mo) a nice daughter (Ella) and  two crazy cats called  Heathcliff and Jeremy. When asked about her inspiration for Clover Twig, she said: "I am really scared of heights, ever since getting stuck up a cliff as a kid. I can't even do step-ladders. But, funnily enough, I'd love to be able to fly! That would be my chosen super-power. When I was small, we used to go on long country walks, and the only way I could drag my aching little legs up the endless hills was to imagine that there was a flying carpet/horse with wings/wizard in an air balloon waiting for me around the next corner. I know I would be scared rigid in a flying cottage in real life, so I let my characters do it, which is the next best thing. Although even writing about it makes me feel air-sick!"
  • Johanna Wright
    Johanna Wright
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage

Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

USBBY Outstanding International Book
  • Trade Paperback

    LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS EDITION

  • Hardcover

    LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS EDITION

  • e-Book

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Roaring Brook Press

BACK