OVERRIDE

Trio of Sorcery

Mercedes Lackey

Tor Books

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Mercedes Lackey presents three exciting short urban fantasy novels featuring three resourceful heroines and three different takes on the modern world and on magics both modern and ancient.

Arcanum 101:  Diana Tregarde, practicing witch, romance novelist, Guardian of the Earth. Studying at Harvard, Diana is approached by Joe O’Brian, a young cop who has already seen more than one unusual thing during his budding career. The distraught mother of a kidnap victim is taking advice from a “psychic” and interfering in the police investigation. Will Diana prove that the psychic is a fake? Unfortunately, the psychic is not a fake, but a very wicked witch—and the child’s kidnapper. 

Drums:  Jennifer Talldeer, shaman, private investigator, member of the Osage tribe. Most of Jennie’s work is regular PI stuff, but Nathan Begay brings her a problem she’s never seen before. His girlfriend, Caroline, is Chickasaw to his Navaho, but that’s not the problem. Somehow, Caroline has attracted the attention of an angry Osage ghost. Thwarted in love while alive, the ghost has chosen Caroline to be his bride in death. 

Ghost in the Machine:  Ellen McBride: computer programmer extraordinaire, techno-shaman. The programmers and players of a new MMORPG find that the game’s “boss,” a wendigo, is “killing” everyone—even the programmers’ characters with their god-like powers. A brilliant debugger, Ellen discoveres that the massive computing power of the game’s servers have created a breach between the supernatural world and our own. This wendigo isn’t a bit of code, it’s the real thing . . . and it’s on the brink of breaking out of the computers and into the real world. 

At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

TRIO OF SORCERY (Chapter One)

This is the first Diana Tregarde story in decades. And in a sense this is the first Diana Tregarde story, period.

It takes place in the early 1970s and it will be hard for anyone younger than thirty to realize what a very different world that was. Computers were the size of buildings. We were still putting men on the moon, but there is more computing power in a common iPhone than there was at all of Cape Kennedy. Watergate was about to happen. Nixon hadn’t yet resigned. U.S. soldiers were still fighting and dying in Vietnam. There was no such thing as

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Trio of Sorcery

“An occult fantasy/mystery sure to grab the teenage crowd!  The teenage characters, love triangles, and action will hook the reader immediately.  The plot weaves a magic spell of its own.  This is a hard one to put down, and readers will clamor for the rest of the series.”—Booklist on Jinx High

“Private investigator Jennifer Talldeer is bright, good looking, and a shaman--an unbeatable combination when delving into a world of crime, intrigue, and Indian mysticism.  In the tradition of Hillerman and Grafton . . . a riveting mystery and a brave and capable sleuth along with mysticism and Indian lore.”—Kliatt on Sacred Ground

“An occult fantasy/mystery sure to grab the teenage crowd!  The teenage characters, love triangles, and action will hook the reader immediately.  The plot weaves a magic spell of its own.  This is a hard one to put down, and readers will clamor for the rest of the series.”—Booklist on Jinx High

“Private investigator Jennifer Talldeer is bright, good looking, and a shaman--an unbeatable combination when delving into a world of crime, intrigue, and Indian mysticism.  In the tradition of Hillerman and Grafton . . . a riveting mystery and a brave and capable sleuth along with mysticism and Indian lore.”—Kliatt on Sacred Ground

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Mercedes Lackey

  • Mercedes Lackey is the author of the bestselling Valdemar series, the Obsidian Trilogy (The Outstretched Shadow, To Light a Candle, and When Darkness Falls), the Enduring Flame trilogy (The Phoenix Unchained, The Phoenix Endangered, and The Phoenix Transformed), and the Tales of the Five Hundred Kingdoms. She has written many other books, including Phoenyx and Ashes, Sacred Ground, The Firebird, The Fairy Godmother, and Alta. Lackey is the co-author, with Andre Norton, of the Halfblood Chronicles, including Elvenborn. Mercedes Lackey was born in Chicago and graduated from Purdue University. She has worked as an artist’s model, a computer programmer, and for American Airlines, and has written lyrics and recorded more than fifty songs. She lives in Oklahoma.
  • Mercedes Lackey Glamour Shots
    Mercedes Lackey
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Trio of Sorcery

    Mercedes Lackey

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK