OVERRIDE

Piper Reed, Navy Brat

Piper Reed (Volume 1)

Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

It’s not easy being the middle child, especially when your dad is a Navy Chief. Meet Piper Reed, a spunky nine-year-old who has moved more times than she can count on one hand. From Texas to Guam, wherever Piper goes, adventure follows, inspired by her active imagination, free-wheeling spirit, and a bit of sister magic. Unlike her older sister, Piper loves being part of a Navy family, and unlike her little sister, Piper is no prodigy genius. Piper is Piper—fearless and full of life.

Based on her own childhood experience, Kimberly Willis Holt portrays the life of a Navy family with warmth and humor.


BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Piper Reed, Navy Brat
1PEPSI-COLA, FLORIDAIt was pizza night. Every Friday night, Chief picked up two large pepperoni pizzas on his way home from the base. I had just pulled the cheese off my slice and was about to put the pepperoni back on when Chief tapped a spoon against his glass of sweet tea.Ting, ting, ting. "Girls, I have an announcement to make.""Are we going to get a dog?" I asked.Chief grinned, and then shook his head."We've been assigned to Pensacola, Florida."Chief always said "we" when he talked about being assigned somewhere even though he was really the only person in the family
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“Filled with warm, realistic family situations mixed with humor, this chapter book deserves a special flyover by the Blue Angels.”—The Horn Book Magazine
 
“This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby.”—School Library Journal
 
“...award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat.”—Booklist
 
“Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner...”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Piper’s lively imagination, wholesomeness and moments of ‘sister magic’ are likable and believable. This easy chapter book, based on Holt’s own experiences, is spot on with the details of roving family life. Davenier’s fluid black-and-white drawings fit the mood and characters . . . Launching a new series, Piper’s foray sets sail with verve, fun and spunk.”—Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

  • Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including Piper Reed, Navy Brat, Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen, and Piper Reed, Rodeo Star. She has written many award-winning novels, including The Water Seeker and My Louisiana Sky, as well as the picture books Waiting for Gregory and Skinny Brown Dog. A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world—from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, When Zachary Beaver Came to Town, won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family. Christine Davenier has illustrated numerous children’s books, and won a New York Times Best Illustrated Award for The First Thing My Mama Told Me. She lives in Paris, France.
  • Kimberly Willis Holt Shannon Holt
    Kimberly Willis Holt
  • Christine Davenier Louis Bourjac
BACK

READING GUIDE

OTHER GUIDES

Reading Group Guide
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Piper Reed, Navy Brat

Piper Reed

Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Oregon Beverly Cleary Children's Choice Award Master List, South Dakota Prairie Pasque Children's Book Award Master Lis, Florida Sunshine State Young Readers Award Master List, Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List, Minnesota Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award Master List
  • Trade Paperback

    LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS EDITION

  • Hardcover

    LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS EDITION

  • e-Book

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BACK