OVERRIDE

The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives

A Mystery

Dixie Hemingway Mysteries (Volume 9)

Blaize and John Clement

Minotaur Books

Plucky heroine Dixie Hemingway is back in this ninth installment of Blaize Clement’s beloved cozy mystery series.

While driving along the beachside road that runs through the center of her hometown Dixie witnesses a terrible head-on collision. Ever the hero, she springs into action and pulls one of the drivers from his car just before it explodes in flames. A little shaken but none the worse for wear, Dixie proceeds to her local bookstore where she meets Cosmo, a fluffy, orange tomcat, and Mr. Hoskins, the store’s kind but strangely befuddled owner. The next day the driver whose life she saved claims that he is Dixie’s husband.

Meanwhile, both Cosmo and Mr. Hoskins have disappeared without a trace, and a mysterious phone call from a new client lures her to a crumbling, abandoned mansion on the outskirts of town. Soon Dixie finds herself locked in a riddle of deception, revenge, murder, and mystery.

The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives features a compelling main character and a riveting plot that is bound to satisfy the appetites of Dixie Hemingway fans and newcomers to the series.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1

 

There are lots of good things about having a boyfriend—especially a new one. First of all, you get to do all those corny, young-love things that new couples have been doing since the dawn of time: hold hands on the beach, watch the sun set, make out like teenagers. Then there are the more practical advantages. For example, you get to mention how the trash needs to be taken out, and if you have a well-trained boyfriend, he’ll take it out. You get to look in the mirror and mutter, “I look like warmed-over toast today,” and he’ll lavish you with

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives

Unanimous Praise for Blaize Clement’s Dixie Hemingway Mysteries
 
Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter
“A knock-out read. For anyone who loves mysteries, animals, or just plain great writing.”
—Laurien Berenson, author of Doggie Day Care Murder
 
Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues
“Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable hybrid . . . sure to delight readers.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon.” —Library Journal
 
“Great ingredients and a fun plot. Frankly, I can’t wait for the sequel! —Linda Fasulo, NPR
 
Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof
“Fast-paced and gripping…everything Blaize Clement’s many fans have come to expect.”
Fantastic Fiction

Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons
“A compelling plot and familiar characters we greet with fondness… Another riveting and rewarding read.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch
 
The Cat Sitter’s Pajamas
“Fans of pet mysteries, such as those by Laurie Berenson, will enjoy it.”
Booklist

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Blaize and John Clement

  • JOHN CLEMENT is the son of BLAIZE CLEMENT (1932-2011), who originated the Dixie Hemingway mystery series and collaborated with her son on the plots and characters for forthcoming novels. Blaize is the author of Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter, Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund, Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues, Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof, Raining Cat Sitters and Dogs,Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons, and The Cat Sitter’s Pajamas. 

  • Blaize Clement Photo: Rick Geiger
    Blaize Clement
  • John Clement
    John Clement
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives

    A Mystery

    Dixie Hemingway Mysteries

    Blaize and John Clement

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK