Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
A Window in Copacabana

A Window in Copacabana

An Inspector Espinosa Mystery

Inspector Espinosa Mysteries (Volume 4)

Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

Henry Holt and Co.



A ruthless group of corrupt cops is playing a lethal game of cat and mouse in the latest installment in the seductive bestselling Brazilian crime series

Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. Three policemen have been killed over the course of a few days. They were mediocre cops, and their deaths have a lot in common: they were eliminated by a cold-blooded assassin, who leaves no trace and likes to fire at point-blank range.

Immediately the police world is thrown into turmoil. Who would risk running around the city killing cops, even unpopular ones? People involved in drug trafficking? Other policemen? Espinosa, chief of the 12th Precinct, doesn't have much to go on. And when the body of a woman connected to one of the dead cops is found on the sidewalk below her apartment window, things get even more complicated, as a reputed "witness"-the wife of a high-ranking government official--becomes obsessed with the case, and with Espinosa.

Nothing is quite as it first appears as Espinosa finds himself in his old haunts of Leme and Copacabana, and in the all-too-familiar murky terrain of corruption, secret lives, greed, and fear.


Praise for A Window in Copacabana

“Beguiling.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Deft . . . This is entertainment of a high order, sly and smart, giving away nothing until the final pages.” —The Washington Post

“The imperturbable maverick of Rio's 12th Precinct matches wits with a serial killer whose path seems to be equally fortuitous. . . . Garcia-Roza, who writes like nobody else in the world, has produced altogether the most ebullient and delightful tale of serial homicide you'll read this year.” —Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

A distinguished academic, Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza is a bestselling novelist who lives in Rio de Janeiro. The Espinosa mysteries have been translated into five languages. A Window in Copacabana is the fourth book in the series; the fifth, Pursuit, was published in winter 2006. Garcia-Roza lives in Brazil.

Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza



    Latest on Facebook