Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Nowhere Man

The Nowhere Man

An Orphan X Novel

Evan Smoak (Volume 2)

Gregg Hurwitz

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Spoken about only in whispers, the Nowhere Man can only be reached by the truly desperate, he can —He will do anything to save them.

Evan Smoak is the Nowhere Man.

Taken from a group home at twelve, Evan was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation designed to create deniable intelligence assets—i.e. assassins. Evan was Orphan X. He broke with the Program, using everything he learned to disappear and reinvent himself as the Nowhere Man.

But his new life is interrupted when a surprise attack comes from an unlikely angle and Evan is caught unaware. Captured, drugged, and spirited off to a remote location, he finds himself heavily guarded and cut off from everything he knows. His captors think they have him trapped and helpless in a virtual cage but they don’t know who they’re dealing with—or that they’ve trapped themselves inside that cage with one of the deadliest and most resourceful men on earth.

Continuing his electrifying series featuring Evan Smoak, Gregg Hurwitz delivers a blistering, compelling new novel in the series launched with the instant international bestseller, Orphan X.

EXCERPT

1

What He Needs to Know



A naked selfie.

It starts with that.

Hector Contrell sends a seventeen-year-old kid to troll middle schools in East L.A. The kid, improbably named Addison, makes for fine bait....

Reviews

Praise for The Nowhere Man

Praise for The Nowhere Man:

“Superb on all levels and a must-read for all thriller fans.” —Providence Journal

“Hurwitz knows how to put the reader deep in the mind of his hero as the pace never lets up.” —Associated Press

“Will keep readers on the edge of their seats… Hurwitz’s engaging, sympathetic characters place this thriller above the pack.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A brilliant sequel. As good as Orphan X was, this is an even better novel, mostly because of its more claustrophobic setting, its captivating villain, and the way the author keeps ratcheting up the danger, including one really clever twist near the end of the book. Where there’s Smoak, there’s fire—and plenty of it.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Fans of Jack Reacher will love Evan Smoak, a man who will do anything to aid the innocent (something he never was).” —Library Journal


Praise for Orphan X:

Orphan X is the most gripping, high-octane thriller I've read in a long, long time. Hang onto your seat because Gregg Hurwitz will take you on a dizzying ride you'll not soon forget!” —Tess Gerritsen

“Exciting and mind blowing! A perfect mix of Jason Bourne and Jack Reacher, ex operative Evan Smoak turns on the action and shows off all the right moves as he sets out to help the downtrodden, and perhaps save his own humanity along the way.” —Lisa Gardner

“This thriller [is] top-notch.... Turn off the real world and dive into this amazing start to a new series.” —Associated Press

“The most exciting thriller I’ve read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak, and the deadly, secret world of the Orphan Program. A new thriller superstar is born!” —Robert Crais

Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I’ve read and catapults the reader on a cat-and-mouse chase that feels like a missile launch. Read this book. You will thank me later.” —David Baldacci

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Gregg Hurwitz

GREGG HURWITZ is the New York Times bestselling author of thrillers including You’re Next and Orphan X. Critically acclaimed, Hurwitz is a two-time finalist for ITW’s Best Novel prize and a finalist for CWA’s Steel Dagger. In addition, Hurwitz is a screenwriter, TV producer, and comic book author. The first book in the Evan Smoak series, Orphan X, has been sold in twenty-one countries. Hurwitz, who lives in Los Angeles, is writing the screen adaption of Orphan X for Warner Brothers and Bradley Cooper.

Gregg Hurwitz

Gary Fleder

Gregg Hurwitz

Macmillan Speakers ?

X

Macmillan Speakers Bureau

Represents thought-provoking authors and experts. We can find a speaker uniquely positioned for your audience and budget.

More info

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER