OVERRIDE

Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick

Roaring Brook Press

A LOADED GUN. STOLEN GOLD. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.

In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig’s father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig’s only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin’s storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why?
 
Revolver is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1Wash Day, dusk
Even the dead tell stories.
Sig looked across the cabin to where his father lay, waiting for him to speak, but his father said nothing, because he was dead. Einar Andersson lay on the table, his arms half raised above his head, his legs slightly bent at the knee, frozen in the position in which they’d found him; out on the lake, lying on the ice, with the dogs waiting patiently in harness.
Einar’s skin was gray; patches of frost and ice still clung to his beard and eyebrows despite the warmth of the cabin. It was only a matter of degree. Outside the temperature
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Revolver

A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.”—The Horn Book, STARRED

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, STARRED

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig’s difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, STARRED

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.”Booklist

 

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Marcus Sedgwick

  • MARCUS SEDGWICK is the author of ten previous novels for young readers and has been short-listed for numerous children’s book awards, including the Carnegie Medal, The Guardian Prize, and the Edgar Allan Poe Award. He lives in Sussex, England.
  • Marcus Sedgwick ©Kate Christer
    Marcus Sedgwick
BACK

READING GUIDE

OTHER GUIDES

Discussion Guide
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick

Texas TAYSHAS High School Reading List, American Library Association Quick Picks for Reluctant Young, CPL: Chicago Public Library Best of the Best, Michael L. Printz Award - Honor, Indiana Read Alouds Too Good to Miss Master List, American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults, Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year
  • Trade Paperback

    LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS EDITION

  • Hardcover

  • e-Book

    LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS EDITION

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Roaring Brook Press

BACK