OVERRIDE

Clover Twig and the Perilous Path

Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

Roaring Brook Press

Lovable Clover Twig is back, and this time she’s traveling along the Perilous Path to try and save her little brother Herby.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER ONE
 
She’s Got a Visitor

It was Saturday morning, and Clover Twig was walking through the woods, on her way back from the village of Tingly Bottom. Her basket was heavy with all the things she needed for breakfast.
Mrs. Eckles always insisted on a thumping great fry-up on Saturdays, because on Fridays she stayed up all night doing the Protection Ritual—a long-winded business involving chalked diagrams, smelly potions, and endless dreary hours of mystic muttering. Clover had stayed up to watch her do it once but kept falling asleep out of boredom.
Clover
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Clover Twig and the Perilous Path

"...fans will be delighted to revisit the quirky characters and the author’s wry, enchanting humor." —BCCB

“Umansky’s characters are once again charmingly quirky, and she peppers her tale  with amusingly outlandish events.”—Kirkus

"...a good read-aloud choice..." —Booklist

 
Praise for Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage:  
 
“Fans of Roald Dahl or Eva Ibbotson may enjoy discovering the secret of the magical cottage along with Clover.” —School Library Journal

“A rambunctious plot, lashings of corny and delightful wordplay, and an original supporting cast contribute to the fun.” —The Horn Book
 
"British author Umansky's giggle-worthy characterizations and dialogue make this winsome read-aloud  stand out from the pack." —Kirkus

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

  • Kaye Umansky is the author of over 130 books for young readers, including THE SILVER SPOON OF SOLOMON SNOW and CLOVER TWIG AND THE MAGICAL COTTAGE. She lives in London with a nice  husband (Mo), a nice daughter (Ella), and two crazy cats called Heathcliff and Jeremy.
  • Johanna Wright
    Johanna Wright
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Clover Twig and the Perilous Path

Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

USBBY Outstanding International Book, Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year
BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Roaring Brook Press

BACK