Box 21

A Novel

Anders Roslund and Börge Hellström

Picador

Download Image Anders Roslund and Börge Hellström Box 21

Available Formats

BookeBook
Three years ago, Lydia and Alena were two hopeful girls from Lithuania. Now they are sex slaves, lured to Sweden with the promise of better jobs and then trapped in a Stockholm brothel. Suddenly they are given an unexpected chance at freedom and with it the opportunity to take revenge on their enslavers and reclaim the lives and dignity they once had. What will happen now that the tables are turned and the victims fight back?  Box 21 is a mind-blowing psychological thriller of the highest order.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for Box 21

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR

“A high-impact Swedish thriller.” —The New York Times

“Superb . . . Roslund and Hellstrom play out the tale in taut, short scenes, meting our revelations and shocks in sure, knowing fashion, ending with the shock that all but undoes the rest . . . Box 21 is profound.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer

“This dark, explicit novel is another impressive crime thriller from Scandinavia. . . . A good read.” —Arizona Republic
 
“Gripping . . . the story takes a number of surprising twists and turns.” —The Washington Post Book World

“This excellent crime thriller is bound to please fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Henning Mankell's Kurt Wallander series.” —Library Journal
“A remarkable tale of loss, addiction and revenge. . . . This taut and nuanced thriller should appeal to fans of Mo Hayder, Denise Mina and, of course, Henning Mankell.” --Publishers Weekly
(Starred Review)
 
“What is it with Scandinavians and great crime writing? Something to do with the long nights, I guess. Box 21, with its sharply drawn cast of jaded cops, junkies, thugs, and victims, is a gripping tale of modern-day slavery, damage, and revenge, shocking and compelling in equal measure.” —Simon Lewis, author of Bad Traffic

In the Press

Fiction Review: Box 21 by Anders Roslund / Author, Borge Hellstrom / Author , trans. from the Swedish. Crichton/FSG $26 (393p) ISBN 978-0-374-28295-0

The Swedish writing team of Roslund and Hellström make their U.S. debut with a remarkable tale of loss, addiction and revenge set in Stockholm's seedy underworld. Ewert Grens, a veteran d
- Publishers Weekly

BOX 21 by Anders Roslund | Kirkus Book Reviews
Read the Kirkus Review of BOX 21. A tangle of criminal plotlines converge combustibly at a Stockholm hospital in this edgy thriller, the second the collaborators have published in English (<i>The Beast<i>, 2005).
- Kirkus Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Anders Roslund and Börge Hellström

Anders Roslund is the founder and former head of Kulturnyheterna (Culture News) on Swedish Television. Börge Hellström is an ex-criminal who helps to rehabilitate young offenders and drug addicts.

Anders Roslund
Borge Hellstrom

Anders Roslund

Official Sites

Borge Hellstrom

Official Sites

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Box 21
A Novel
Anders Roslund and Börge Hellström

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Picador
October 2010
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312655341
ISBN10: 0312655347
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 400 pages
$22.00

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Sarah Crichton Books
October 2009
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429990028
ISBN10: 1429990023
6 x 9 inches, 400 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Picador

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back