OVERRIDE

Brother, Brother

Clay Carmichael

Roaring Brook Press

The day his grandmother dies, seventeen-year-old Billy “Brother” Grace discovers that he has a twin who has recently made headlines by nearly overdosing on drugs. His twin also happens to be the son of a powerful senator. His newly discovered family may not be all that interested in a cheery reunion, but Brother is determined to get answers. When he arrives on the secluded island off the coast of North Carolina where the senator and his family live, sparks will fly, old resentments will be released, and secrets revealed. Part coming-of-age story, part love story, Clay Carmichael's Brother, Brother is a book about finding out that who you are and where you come from aren't necessarily the same thing.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1
 
 
FOR THE FIRST NIGHT in months, Brother dreamed of the sea.
The great mother, Mem called it. She’d grown up on the coast, said sea dreams ran in the family. Which explained his dreams, she told him, and why a boy who’d never seen the ocean chased dolphins in his sleep, heard waves crash shores he never reached, woke shaken and soaked in sweat like something half-drowned.
“I swam with dolphins when I was a girl,” she’d said. “They’re good luck, you know.” He did know. She’d told him many times. But last night’s
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Brother, Brother

"This uplifting underdog story, featuring actual dogs, will draw thoughtful readers with its well-wrought characters and themes of family secrets, romance, and virtue." -- School Library Journal

"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Rachel Vail will enjoy this family story with its touch of mystery, well-developed sense of place, and appealing characters." -- BCCB

"Carmichael explores the journey to self-discovery, nature versus nurture, defining family values, and recognizing your own strength and character through the appealing Brother and his marvelous entourage." - VOYA

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Clay Carmichael

  • Clay Carmichael grew up in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. She is the author-illustrator of the award-winning novel Wild Things and the picture books Bear at the Beach, Used-Up Bear and Lonesome Bear, which have been translated into many languages. She lives with her husband, sculptor Mike Roig, and an ever-growing number of spoiled feral cats in Carrboro, North Carolina.

  • Clay Carmichael
BACK

READING GUIDE

OTHER GUIDES

Discussion Guide
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Brother, Brother

Clay Carmichael

Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year
BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Roaring Brook Press

BACK