OVERRIDE

Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger

Beth Harbison

St. Martin's Griffin

"Smart, funny, and unapologetically romantic." —Publisher's Weekly (starred review)
 
Ten years ago, Quinn Barton was on her way to the altar to marry Burke Morrison, her high school sweetheart, when something derailed her. Rather, someone derailed her—the Best Man, who at the last minute--and with shocking revelations--begged her to reconsider the marriage. Quinn, stunned, hurt, and confused, struggled between ignoring what she was told—or running away.
 
She chose running. With the Best Man. Who happened to be Burke’s brother, Frank. 
 
That relationship didn’t work either. How could it, when Quinn had been engaged to, in love with, Frank’s brother? Quinn opted for neither, and instead, spent the next seventeen years working in her Middleburg, Virginia, bridal shop, Talk of the Gown. 
 
But when the two brothers return to town for another wedding, old anger, hurt, and passion resurface. Just because you’ve traded the bad guy for the good guy for no guy doesn’t mean you have to stay away from love for the rest of your life, does it? Told with Beth Harbison’s flair for humor and heart, Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger will keep you guessing and make you believe in the possibilities of love.
 
“Funny and charming, and perfect for a lazy day in the hammock or at the beach.” —New York Journal of Books

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1
 
 
June, Ten Years Ago
There are five stages of heartbreak.
The first is Denial (He didn’t! He wouldn’t!), followed by Fear (What if he did? What will happen to me if I dump him?), a variable period of Rationalization (He didn’t even have time! I would know if he’d been with someone else!), and eventually Acceptance (Okay, he did it, I have to move on, he doesn’t deserve me).
Then comes Revenge.
Unfortunately, all too often these stages mix themselves up or repeat, repeat, repeat like a film on a loop, and sometimes another
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger

Praise for Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger:
 
"Smart, funny, and unapologetically romantic." —Publisher's Weekly (starred)
"A lighthearted romantic romp." —USA Today 
“…this hilariously quirky, charming, perfect-for-summer read will have readers choosing sides (Team Burke! Team Frank!) and learning along with Quinn to embrace true love with humor and heart.” —Booklist
“An easy, breezy read, funny and charming, and perfect for a lazy day in the hammock or at the beach.” —New York Journal of Books
“Harbison has once again created an endearing, humorous story with laugh-out-loud twists and turns.” —Shelf Awareness
"Her characters are realistic, imperfect souls who’ll capture reader’s hearts and their empathies." —The Reading Frenzy
 
Praise for When in Doubt, Add Butter:
 
“Harbison dazzles in her latest, a perfect blend of chick lit and women’s fiction. . . . Absolutely first-rate.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Delicious, just like dessert.” —People Magazine
 
"A lovable heroine and an engaging cast of eccentrics make for a cheerful summer read." —Kirkus Reviews
 
"Harbison’s airy prose, likable heroine, colorful characters, and engaging story are sure to appeal to fans of Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, and Emily Giffin. Think of When in Doubt, Add Butter as a soufflé. It’s a tasty dish…” —Examiner.com
 
"Harbison's cast of characters is delightful." —SheKnows Book Lounge
 
 
More Praise for Beth Harbison:
 
“Touching, truthful, and profoundly satisfying, Harbison delivers her finest work yet.” —Jen Lancaster, New York Times bestselling author of Jeneration X, on Always Something There to Remind Me
 
“Harbison serves up a deliciously light blend of 1980s nostalgia and women’s fiction. . . . She raises the emotional stakes and gives this story a little more bite without losing her fun, breezy style.” —Publishers Weekly on Always Something There to Remind Me
 
“A fast and fun read . . . sure to appeal to anyone who came of age in the late 1980s.” —Library Journal on Thin, Rich, Pretty
 
“Told with Beth Harbison’s knack for thirty and forty-something nostalgia, and heartwarming humour, Thin Rich Pretty will strike a chord with any woman who has ever looked in the mirror, or the bank account, and said, “if only . . . ” —The Vancouver Province on Thin, Rich, Pretty
 
"...fun nostalgia for those of us who loved Bonne Bell Lip Smackers & Sun-In." —Fort-Worth Star Telegram on Hope in a Jar
 
“Harbison continues to wow readers with her charm and genuine characters.” —Booklist on Hope in a Jar
 
“Harbison’s writing is zingy and funny, and her light touch allows her to get away with the ridiculous situations in this nutty beach read.” —Publishers Weekly on Secrets of a Shoe Addict
 
"Kick off your Keds (unless you're driving) and meet a motley group of D.C. women who bond over designer shoes.  It's chick lit with heart and sole." —People Magazine on Shoe Addicts Anonymous
 
"I would happily recommend Shoe Addicts Anonymous to anyone who loves shoes...or to smart, funny, realistic women.” —Jennifer Weiner
 
"Readers will root for these four plucky women.  Like the designer shoes that pepper its pages, this book is pleasing and stylish.  This frothy confection is sure to fly off the shelves this summer." —Booklist on Shoe Addicts Anonymous
 

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Beth Harbison

  • BETH HARBISON is The New York Times bestselling author of When In Doubt, Add Butter, Always Something There To Remind Me; Thin, Rich, Pretty; Hope In A Jar; Secrets of a Shoe Addict; and Shoe Addicts Anonymous. She grew up in Potomac, Maryland, outside Washington, D.C., and now shares her time between that suburb, New York City, and a quiet home on the eastern shore.

  • Beth Harbison Photo: John Harbison
    Beth Harbison
BACK

COMMUNITY

Heroes and Heartbreakers.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger

    Beth Harbison

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    St. Martin's Griffin

    BACK