OVERRIDE

Cracked Up to Be

Courtney Summers

St. Martin's Griffin

Perfect Parker Fadley isn’t so perfect anymore.  She’s quit the cheerleading squad, she’s dumped her perfect boyfriend, and she’s failing school.  Her parents are on a constant suicide watch and her counselors think she’s playing games…but what they don’t know, the real reason for this whole mess, isn’t something she can say out loud.  It isn’t even something she can say to herself.  A horrible thing has happened and it just might be her fault.  If she can just remove herself from everybody--be totally alone--then everything will be okay...The problem is, nobody will let her. 

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One

 

Imagine four years.

            Four years, two suicides, one death, one rape, two pregnancies (one abortion), three overdoses, countless drunken antics, pantsings, spilled food, theft, fights, broken limbs, turf wars--every day, a turf war--six months until graduation and no one gets a medal when they get out.  But everything you do here counts.  

            High school.

           

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

MEDIA

Watch

  • Cracked Up to Be, The Book Trailer

    The book trailer for Courtney Summers's edgy YA novel, Cracked Up to Be, coming January 2009 St. Martin's Press.

BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Cracked Up to Be

"Courtney Summers is a writer who pulls no punches and Parker Fadley is a character you won't forget.  Together, they create a novel that will keep you on edge, turning pages long into the night."
--K.L Going, author of Saint Iggy
 
"Told in beautifully rendered, spare, haunting prose...Courtney Summers has written a remarkable debut.  I thought about this one long after I'd reached the end,"
--Alyson Noël, author of Saving Zoë
 
"Summers expertly navigates the dangerous waters of high school, leading her readers on until she reveals the grim secret that led her troubled heroine to the brink of suicide. Fans of Lois Duncan and Chrisotpher Pike will appreciate this dark tale."
--Martha O'Connor, author of Bitch Posse
 
"Cracked Up To Be gives you Parker, her world, her friends, straight up, no chaser.  You won't forget her."
--Kathe Koja author of Kissing The Bee

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Courtney Summers

  • Courtney Summers is the author of young adult novels including Fall for Anything and Some Girls Are. She lives and writes in Canada, where she divides her time between a piano, a camera, and a word-processing program when she’s not planning for the impending zombie apocalypse.
  • Courtney Summers Courtney Summers
    Courtney Summers
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Cracked Up to Be

Courtney Summers

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

St. Martin's Griffin

BACK