OVERRIDE

Dark Victory

Lady Lazarus (Volume 2)

Michele Lang

Tor Books

Magda Lazarus was a reluctant witch until the dire threat of Nazi Germany convinced her to assume the mantle of her family’s ancient powers. But though this young, beautiful Jewish woman has fought off Hitler’s SS werewolves and the demon who would rule through the Führer, she has been unable to prevent the outbreak of World War II.

As long as Magda can summon spirits, there is still a chance to save people from the dire threat of the Holocaust. Her family’s guardian angel, Raziel, stands beside her in the battle against the human and supernatural forces of evil arrayed against her people and all of Europe.

In Michele Lang's Dark Victory, as the Nazis prepare to invade Poland, Magda and her beloved Raziel marshal their own army, a supernatural force that will battle Hitler’s minions to the death…or beyond.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1
 

AUGUST 30, 1939: 11 A.M.
DOHÁNY STREET
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY


My doom was trapped inside a tin of Hungarian paprika.
I rolled the thin metal canister between my fingers and almost dropped it; the tin was hot enough to burn my skin. In the silence of my dusty little kitchen on Dohány Street, in Budapest’s Seventh District, my pulse pounded in my ears. I knew that if I could not control the demon I had captured, Hitler would invade Poland. And the world would explode.
The situation was just that simple and that difficult. I had captured Hitler’s
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Dark Victory

Praise for Dark Victory:

“Michele Lang’s Dark Victory is the best entry yet in a groundbreaking, rich, enthralling series that combines the darkest days of World War II with magic, very human characters, and stakes that couldn’t be higher. A tour de force!”  —Rachel Caine, New York Times bestselling author

“A stunning sequel to Lady Lazarus. Lang really makes you believe supernatural forces were at work in the Third Reich!”  —Cathy Clamp, USA Today bestselling author

“Lang’s realization of an alternate history where supernatural forces join the conflict of World War II is daringly conceived and brilliantly executed..”  —Janet Mullany, bestselling author of Jane and the Damned

“It’s even better than the last one. Actually, it’s awesome. Lang just gets better and better. I can’t wait to see what will happen next.”  —Kat Richardson, bestselling author of the Greywalker series

Praise for Lady Lazarus:

“An absolutely unique protagonist in an engaging tale set against the backdrop of the greatest clash of good and evil in human history. What’s not to love about Lady Lazarus?”  —Jim Butcher, bestselling author of The Dresden Files series

“Lang crafts a creative and tense story as all of Europe awaits the September invasion of Poland. Lang is a writer to watch and is sure to have wide appeal to fans of Jim Butcher, Kat Richardson, and other urban-fantasy A-listers.”  —Booklist, starred review

“It’s a dark little gem of a book. Strange and stirring and unlike any historical fantasy I’ve read before. I hope we’ll hear a lot more from Ms. Lang.”  —Kat Richardson, bestselling author of The Greywalker series

“Lyrical, haunting and full of a dark, sublime beauty, Lady Lazarus is simply stunning.”  —Nalini Singh, New York Times bestselling author of Blaze of Memory

“A fascinating story and concept—a daughter of the Lazarus bloodline capable of rising from the dead.  Filled with adventure, imbued with history, and beautifully told. Wish I had thought of it.” 
—Sunny, bestselling author of Lucinda, Dangerously

“With lyrical prose, a fascinating heroine, and a darkly powerful, emotional narrative, Lady Lazarus is simply magic. Intriguing, beautiful, and impossible to put down.”  —Meljean Brook, bestselling author of The Guardians series

“Michele Lang’s Lady Lazarus is a beautifully written tale set in a complex, alternate Nazi Europe. The characters are dark and well developed, and the author is a talented storyteller.”  —Faith Hunter, author of the Rogue Mage Series

Lady Lazarus is brilliantly original and delicious to read. It’s the sort of book that keeps you up all night and leaves you wanting more.”  —Diana Pharaoh Francis, author of Bitter Night

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Michele Lang

  • MICHELE LANG is the author of the historical fantasy novel Lady Lazarus, the first book in the trilogy of the same name, and its sequel, Dark Victory.  Lang lives with her husband and three sons on the North Shore of Long Island, New York, where she is hard at work writing the concluding volume of the Lady Lazarus series for 2013 publication.

  • Michele Lang
    Michele Lang
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Dark Victory

    Lady Lazarus

    Michele Lang

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK