Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Falls the Shadow

Falls the Shadow

A Novel

Welsh Princes Trilogy (Volume 2)

Sharon Kay Penman

St. Martin's Griffin


Trade Paperback

Simon de Montfort was a man ahead of his time in the thirteenth century, a disinherited Frenchman who talked his way into an English earldom and marriage with a sister of the English king, Henry III. A charismatic, obstinate leader, Simon soon lost patience with the king's incompetence and inability to keep his word, and found himself the champion of the common people.

This is his story, and the story of Henry III, as weak and changeable as Simon was brash and unbending. It is a tale of opposing wills that would eventually clash in a storm of violence and betrayal—an irresistible saga that brings the pages of history completely, provocatively, and magnificently alive.


Praise for Falls the Shadow

“A marvelous literary and historical achievement…. Impossible to put down.” —Boston Herald

“Absorbing. . . . [Penman] manages to illuminate the alien shadowland of the Middle Ages and populate it with vital characters whose politics and passions are as vivid as our own.” —San Francisco Chronicle

“A remarkably detailed look at how people lived in medieval England and Wales. . . .Worth reading.” —The Plain Dealer (Cleveland)

“A vivid portrait of a lost time . . . full of fascinating personality studies . . . Once you enter her world you're hooked. ” —Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Sharon Kay Penman

Sharon Kay Penman is the author of six critically acclaimed historical novels and four medieval mysteries, one of which was a finalist for an Edgar Award for Best First Mystery from the Mystery Writers of America.

Sharon Kay Penman

From the Publisher

St. Martin's Griffin

Latest on Facebook