Rights & Permissions

   

Rights and Permissions

Subsidiary Rights | Permissions | Permission Request Form

PERMISSIONS

If you are using an excerpt or selection from one of our books you must secure written permission from us. We handle permissions (other than educational photocopying) for Farrar, Straus and Giroux and its divisions, imprints and affiliates including Hill and Wang, Faber and Faber, Inc., Scientific American Books, Sarah Crichton Books, and North Point Press. 

● PHOTOCOPY requests for educational or academic should be sent here: 

Copyright Clearance Center
Academic Permissions Customer Service
222 Rosewood Drive
Danvers, MA 01923

Phone: (978) 750- 8400

Fax: (978) 750- 4470

www.copyright.com

 

 DIGITAL COPIES FOR DISABLED STUDENTS requests should be sent here: 

accessibility@macmillanusa.com

 

 FSG CHILDREN’S BOOKS requests should be sent here: 

Macmillan Children’s Division
175 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10010

Attn.: Deana Dupree, Permissions Manager

E-Mail: childrensrights@macmillanusa.com

 

● ALL OTHER REQUESTS (including for electronic reserve use) FOR FARRAR, STRAUS AND GIROUX MATERIAL MUST BE SUBMITTED BY EMAIL TO: Rights@fsgbooks.com USING THE REQUEST FORM BELOW. 

Click here for our Permissions Request form: Word or pdf.

Completed request forms may also be mailed to: 

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, LLC
Permissions Department
18 West 18th Street
New York NY 10011 

We cannot accept requests by telephone, fax, or to personal e-mail boxes. Submit your request as early as possible. Due to the volume of requests we receive, our turnaround for response is approximately 4-6 weeks. Do not submit duplicate requests. 

We do not allow editing or re-titling of any selection. Your selection must be reproduced verbatim, as a continuous, uninterrupted excerpt, without alteration, deletion, editing, abridgement or condensation. You must maintain original line breaks for poetry and maintain complete paragraphs and sections for prose. Please review your selection carefully before you submit your request, making sure that it meets these requirements. If space constraints are a concern, consider requesting permission for a shorter excerpt, making sure that it is unedited. 

Your request must be complete. If your request is not complete, we will not be able to process it. Please provide all of the following information (as applicable): 

Information about our book:

  • Title and author of our book
  • ISBN (the number on the back cover above the bar code)
  • The poem or story title, page numbers or detailed description of the material from our book which you wish to use. For untitled excerpts you must provide the beginning and end phrases, as well as page numbers. For large amounts of poetry or prose in a scholarly work please provide approximate line counts and/or word counts.
  • Photocopy of the material in context (i.e. pages from your manuscript showing material used)

 

Information about your project:

  • Title and author of your book
  • Publisher of your book
  • Expected date of publication (month and/or season)
  • Type or format (hardcover print, paperback print, periodical, audio, ebook, website, etc)
  • Print run (initial and lifetime)
  • Territory of distribution (e.g. US & Canada, world, etc)
  • List price
  • Page count
  • Text or trade or scholarly 

If you are requesting permission for multiple formats (e.g. paperback and e-book), please include all the above information about each format. 

If your project involves performance of any kind (e.g. film, television, play, broadcast, live reading, music, etc) please provide as much information as possible about the use. 

Requester information:

  • Full name
  • Position
  • Company
  • Street address or PO Box
  • City, State, zip code
  • Country
  • Phone
  • Fax
  • E-mail address

 

Please allow 6 weeks for a response.

 

SUBSIDIARY RIGHTS

Rights Information

When rights are controlled by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, please contact Devon Mazzone at devon.mazzone@fsgbooks.com
or fax (212) 633 9385, or the following agents:


BRAZILIAN RIGHTS
Laura and João Paulo Riff
Riff Agency
Avenida Calógeras, n 6, sala 1007
20030-070, Centro, Rio de Janeiro RJ, Brazil
TEL: (5521) 2287 6299
FAX: (5521) 2287 6393
e-mail: laura@agenciariff.com.br
e-mail: joaopaulo@agenciariff.com.br
 

BULGARIAN RIGHTS
Katalina Sabeva
Anthea Agency
62 G.M. Dimitrov Blvd., Suite 20
Sofia 1172, Bulgaria
TEL: (359 2) 986 1866
FAX: (359 2) 986 3581
e-mail: katalina@anthearights.com
 

CHINESE RIGHTS (COMPLEX)
David Tsai
Bardon Chinese Media
3F, No. 150, Sec. 2
Roosevelt Rd.
Taipai City 100, Taiwan
TEL: (886 2) 2364 4995 ext. 35
FAX: (886 2) 2364 1967
e-mail: david@bardon.com.tw
 

CHINESE RIGHTS (SIMPLIFIED)
David Tsai
Bardon Chinese Media
Room 2-702, Building 2 RongHuaShiJia,
No. 29, XiaoYingBeiLu, ChaoYang District,
Beijing 100101, China
TEL: (86 10) 8223 5383
FAX: (86 10) 8223 5362
 

CROATIA, SERBIA, SLOVENIA
Vuk Perisic
Plima Literary Agency
Branka Ćopića 20, PO Box 6
11160 Belgrade
Serbia
TEL: 38 1 11 304 6386
e-mail: vuk@plimaliterary.rs
 

CZECH AND SLOVAK RIGHTS
Kristin Olson
Literarni Agentura
Klimentska 24
110 00 Prague 1, Czech Republic
TEL:(420) 222 582 042
e-mail: kristin.olson@litag.cz
 

DUTCH RIGHTS
Paul Sebes
Sebes & Van Gelderen Literary Agency
Herengracht 162
1016 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
TEL: (31) 20 6160940
FAX: (20) 618 0843
e-mail: sebes@sebes.nl
 

ESTONIA, LATVIA, LITHUANIA
Tatjana Zoldnere
ANA Baltic
P.O.Box 77
Riga, LV 1011
Latvia
TEL: +371 6 7506 495
e-mail: zoldnere@anab.apollo.lv

 FRENCH RIGHTS
Corinne Marotte
L’Autre Agence
45 rue Marx Dormoy
Paris 75018, France
TEL: 33 1 84 16 61 00
e-mail: cmarotte@lautreagence.eu
 

GERMAN RIGHTS
Anoukh Foerg
Anoukh Foerg Literarische Agentur
Herzogstrasse 73
80796 Munich, Germany
TEL: +49 (89) 4521 9059
FAX: + 49 (89) 39 68 63
e-mail: anoukhfoerg@anoukfoerg.com
 

GREEK RIGHTS
Nike Davarinou
Read n’ Right Agency
9 Amazonon Street
Chalkida 34100, Greece
TEL: (3022) 210 29798
FAX: (3022) 210 27423
e-mail: readrght@ath.forthnet.gr
 

HEBREW RIGHTS
Rena Rossner
The Deborah Harris Agency
PO Box 8528
Jerusalem 91083, Israel
TEL: (02) 563 323
FAX: (02) 561 8711
e-mail: rena@thedeborahharrisagency.com
 

HUNGARIAN RIGHTS
Peter Bolza
Kátai & Bolza
Szerb u. 17-19
H-1056, Budapest, Hungary
TEL: (1) 456 0313
FAX: (1) 215 4420
e-mail: peter@kataibolza.hu
 

ITALIAN RIGHTS
Claire Sabatie Garat
Marco Vigevani Agenzia Letteraria
Via Cappuccio 14
20123 Milano, Italy
TEL: + 39 (02) 8699 6553
FAX: +39 (02) 8698 2309
e-mail: claire@marcovigevani.com
 

JAPANESE RIGHTS
Asako Kawachi
Tuttle-Mori Agency
Fuji Building, 8F, 2-15 Kanda Jimbocho
Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 101, Japan
TEL: (03) 3230 4081
FAX: (03) 3234 5249
e-mail: asako@tuttlemori.com
 

KOREAN RIGHTS
Kyung Kang
KCC
Gyeonghigung Achim Complex 3
Offictel #520
34, Sajik-ro 8-gil, Jongno-gu
Seoul 110-872, Korea
TEL: (2) 725 3350
FAX: (2) 725 3612
e-mail: khkang@kccseoul.com

POLISH RIGHTS
Maria Strarz-Kanska & Marcin Biegaj
Graal Ltd., ul. Pruszkowska 29,
02-119 Warsaw, Poland
TEL: (22) 895 2000
FAX: (22) 895 2001
e-mail: maria@graal.com.pl
e-mail: marcin@graal.com.pl

ROMANIAN RIGHTS
Simona Kessler & Marina Adriana
International Copyright Agency
Str. Banul Antonache 37
70 000 Bucharest 1, Romania
TEL : (4021) 316 48 06
FAX : (4021) 316 47 94
e-mail: simona@kessler-agency.ro
e-mail: marina@kessler-agency.ro

RUSSIAN RIGHTS
Olga Zasetskaya
Synopsis Literary Agency
PO Box 114, Moscow 129090, Russia
TEL: +7 499 519-0360
e-mail: oz@synopsis-agency.ru

SCANDINAVIAN RIGHTS
Eva Haagerup
Leonhardt & Høier
Studiestraede 35
1455 Kopenhagen K DK, Denmark
TEL: (33) 132 523
FAX: (33) 134 992
e-mail: eva@leonhardt-hoier.dk

SPANISH AND PORTUGUESE RIGHTS
Mónica Martín & Ines Planells
MB Agencia Literaria
Ronda Sant Pere 62, 1º 2ª
08010 Barcelona, Spain
TEL: (93) 265 90 61
FAX: (93) 232 72 21
e-mail: monica@mbagencialiteraria.es
e-mail: ines@mbagencialiteraria.es

TURKISH RIGHTS
Amy Spangler
AnatoliaLit Agency
Caferaga Mah.
Gunesli Bahce Sok.
No:48 Or.Ko Apt.
B Blok D:4
34710 Kadikoy- Istanbul
Turkey
tel: +90 216 700 1088
fax: +90 216 700 1089
amy@anatolialit.com

UK RIGHTS (AND ALL OTHER
TERRITORIES)
Devon Mazzone
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Director, Subsidiary Rights
TEL: (212) 206 5301
FAX: (212) 633 9385
e-mail: devon.mazzone@fsgbooks.com