Garcia's Heart

A Novel

Liam Durcan

St. Martin's Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Liam Durcan Garcia's Heart

Available Formats

Book

Winner of the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel
In this enthralling debut novel, neurologist Patrick Lazerenko travels to The Hague to witness the war crimes trial of his mentor, Hernan García, a Honduran doctor accused of involvement in torture. As García’s supposed crimes are revealed, Patrick wrestles with what truth there may be behind the accusations, haunted as he is by his own youthful memories of the man and his family. But it isn’t until García’s shocking intentions come to light that Patrick begins to realize that however sophisticated his knowledge of the brain may be, it will take more for him to understand the human heart.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1

“Going to see the Angel?” the cab driver said, and smiled like a man who knew for certain he’d won a bet.
All Patrick Lazerenko had done was get into the cab and ask to go to the tribunal building at Churchillplein. The real destination was obvious to the cab driver. At this time of year, with the hotels catering almost exclusively to dark-suited people on official business, Patrick had the look of a tourist. Standing among a group of businessmen in the lobby of the Hotel Metropole and watching them disperse into the Den Haag drizzle, he had already begun to

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Garcia's Heart

Praise for Garcia's Heart:

“This is one literary novel that reads like a thriller.” —Details

García’s Heart beats with a riveting blend of science and suspense, perfect for fans of David Baldacci and John le Carré.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Durcan’s outstanding debut novel walks a taut line between skillful thrill and philosophical novel of ideas. . . . He already writes with an ease reminiscent of Graham Greene.” —Library Journal

“Like a cross between John le Carré and Ian McEwan, García’s Heart treads the line between an elegant, elegiac novel of ideas and a sophisticated political thriller.” —Pauls Toutonghi, author of Red Weather


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Liam Durcan

Liam Durcan’s first book, the story collection A Short Journey by Car, was chosen by Canada’s Globe and Mail as one of the Top 100 Books of 2004. His fiction has been published in The Fiddlehead, Zoetrope, The Antigonish Review, and Maisonneuve. Durcan is a neurologist at the Montreal Neurological Hospital and an assistant professor at McGill University. He lives in Montreal with his family. García’s Heart is his first novel.

Liam Durcan

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Garcia's Heart
A Novel
Liam Durcan

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books
February 2009
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312539320
ISBN10: 0312539320
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$18.99
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Griffin

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back