Guardian of the Green Hill

Laura L. Sullivan

Henry Holt and Co.

Download Image Laura L. Sullivan Guardian of the Green Hill

Available Formats

BookeBook
Only a few weeks ago, Meg Morgan and her siblings went to England for the holidays—and found themselves in the middle of a fairy war. Now the war is over, but the battle for control of the fairies has just begun.
 
A mysterious painter named Gwidion appears at the Rookery, ready to give the children art lessons. But his real plans are far more sinister: He means to destroy the Guardian of the Green Hill, the woman who keeps the peace between fairies and humans.
 
Meg knows nothing of the evil artist’s plans, but she is beginning to understand that she might be the only one who can become Guardian when her great-great aunt’s time is over. Yet Meg is just a girl—surely she has plenty of time before she must decide whether she wants to take on such an enormous role.
 
Then someone she loves is stolen by fairies, and no one but Meg can get him back. . . .

Connect with the Author

Laura L. Sullivan

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

She Will Be My Creature
 

MORE SKIN THAN FLESH, more bones than skin, the artist hunched over his easel. He added shading under the eyes and thickened the hair, then growled in disgust. It was still nothing like her, nothing like what he wanted her to be. The eyes were only wistful, not yet weak and sorrowful. The round chin looked too strong.… It would never tremble. Even the short curling silver hair looked too tidy, nothing like the unkempt locks of one given up to despair. And that is how he needed Phyllida Ash—hopeless, self-pitying, cringing, and powerless.

Read the full excerpt

Download excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Guardian of the Green Hill

“A good choice for those well-read in fairy stories…” --VOYA
 
“Sullivan’s writing has a timelessness that contrasts nicely with Meg’s distinctly modern ideas and weaves a compelling story that will pull readers along.” --School Library Journal
 
“Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit.” --Kirkus Reviews

In the Press

GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. SullivanKirkus Book Reviews
Read the Kirkus Review of GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL . Weeks after her pivotal role in the Midsummer War in <em>Under the Green Hill <em>(2010), contemporary American Meg Morton must decide if she's willing to "do the hard things" and become the Guardian of the Green Hill fairy sanctuary.
- Kirkus Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Laura L. Sullivan

Laura L. Sullivan is a former newspaper editor, biologist, social worker and deputy sheriff who writes because that’s the easiest way to do everything in the world. She lives in the woods of Kentucky with her loved ones. This is her second novel.

Laura L. Sullivan

Andy DeLay
Laura L. Sullivan

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Guardian of the Green Hill
Laura L. Sullivan

Hardcover

Hardcover
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Henry Holt and Co.
October 2011
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780805089851
ISBN10: 0805089853
Middle-Grade Fiction
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
Age Range: 9 to 12
Grade Range: 4 to 7 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 910LL

$16.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Henry Holt and Co.
October 2011
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429975650
ISBN10: 1429975652
Middle-Grade Fiction304 pages
Age Range: 9 to 12
Grade Range: 4 to 7 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 910LL

$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back