Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Hippopotamister

Hippopotamister

John Patrick Green

First Second

Hippopotamister

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover
The zoo isn't what it used to be. It's run down, and Hippo hardly ever gets any visitors. So he decides to set off for the outside with his friend Red Panda. To make it in the human world, Hippo will have to become a Hippopotamister: he'll have to act like a human, get a job, and wear a hat as a disguise. He's a good employee, whether he's a construction worker, a hair stylist, or a sous chef. But what he really needs is a job where he can be himself.

Reviews

Praise for Hippopotamister

Included in School Library Journal's "Best of 2016" list.

"Clever and fun!" —Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile

"Hip, hip, hooray for Hippopotomister!" —Lauren Castillo, author of Nana in the City

"Delightfully sweet. Three cheers for Hippopotamister!" —Jennifer & Matthew Holm, co-creators of Babymouse & Squish

"At it's core, Hippopotomister is a touching friendship tale in the tradition of Frog and Toad and Robot Dreams. But this book will also serve as the perfect roadway for those kids looking for a path from picture books to graphic novels." —Nick Bruel, creator of the Bad Kitty series

"Green’s (Teen Boat!) characters burst with personality, his comedic sense shines, and his visual storytelling skills are solid." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A charming book with a solid message about changing one's life through hard work, imagination, and openness to new experiences." —Kirkus Reviews

"A fun and engaging selection for readers just venturing into graphic novels." —School Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

John Patrick Green

John Patrick Green grew up on Long Island and has worked in New York City since graduating from the School of Visual Arts with a degree in graphic design. He was the comics consultant for Disney Adventures magazine, where he wrote and often drew the popular Last Laugh feature. John is the co-creator and illustrator of the graphic novel series Jax Epoch and the Quicken Forbidden and Teen Boat!, both with writer Dave Roman. He has also worked as a writer, illustrator, or designer on comics and graphic novels for Nickelodeon Magazine, DreamWorks, Scholastic Graphix, and DC Comics. John lives in Brooklyn with zero cats and way too many LEGOs.

John Patrick Green

Ellen B. Wright

From the Publisher

First Second

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER