In the Company of Ogres

A. Lee Martinez

Tor Books

Download Image A. Lee Martinez In the Company of Ogres

Available Formats

BookeBook
An uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett!

For someone who’s immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency--he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment.
 
Ogre Company is the legion’s dumping ground--a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That’s where Ned’s rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company’s newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevil pilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc.
 
Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that’s not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found out why he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . .

In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez’s previous novel, Gil’s All Fright Diner, did for horror--and elves and goblins may never be the same!

Connect with the Author

A. Lee Martinez

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One
His name was Never Dead Ned, but it was only a nickname. He could die. He’d met his death forty-nine times, and forty-nine times he’d risen from the grave. Although, after his reputation spread, people stopped bothering to bury him. They’d just throw his corpse in a corner and wait for him to rise again. And he always did. But every death took a little bit away from him, put another ache in his joints, sapped a little more spring from his step. And Ned learned the hard way that there were worse things than dying.
 
There was dying over and over again.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for In the Company of Ogres

“Martinez’s follow-up to Gil's All Fright Diner is as joyfully fast paced and funny. Ogre Company tweaks fantasy clichés most excellently.”--Booklist on In the Company of Ogres
 
“Martinez’s broad humor should appeal to fans of the late Douglas Adams and other contemporary authors of comic fantasy.”--Library Journal on In the Company of Ogres
 
“[A] terrific debut. . . . Fans of Douglas Adams will happily sink their teeth into this combo platter of raunchy laughs and ectoplasmic ecstasy.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Gil's All Fright Diner

“Do you know a young man twelve to seventeen years old who hates reading? Then this is the book for him!”—Voices of Youth Advocates on Gil's All Fright Diner

“Can a vampire find true love with a ghost? Can a teenage witch open the gates of Hell? Anything can happen in Martinez’s wacky debut.”—Charlaine Harris, bestselling author of Dead to the World on Gil's All Fright Diner

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

A. Lee Martinez

A. Lee Martinez lives in Terrell, Texas. Martinez received the American Library Association's Alex Award for his first novel, Gil's All Fright Diner.

A. Lee Martinez

Back

Community

Tor.com

Latest Blog Posts

More Blog Posts
 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

In the Company of Ogres
A. Lee Martinez

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
April 2007
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780765354570
ISBN10: 0765354578
4 3/16 x 6 3/4 inches, 336 pages
$7.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
April 2007
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429987103
ISBN10: 1429987103
352 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back