I Remember You

A Ghost Story

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Yrsa Sigurdardottir I Remember You

Available Formats

BookeBook

I Remember You won the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and also was nominated for The Glass Key Award.

In this terrifying tale, three friends set to work renovating a rundown house in a remote, totally isolated location. But they soon realize they are not as alone as they thought. Something wants them to leave. Meanwhile, in a nearby town, a young doctor investigating the suicide of an elderly woman discovers that she was obsessed with his vanished son. When the two stories collide, the shocking truth becomes horribly clear.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist partly based on a true story, is the scariest novel yet from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has captivated the attention of readers around the world with her mystery series featuring attorney Thora Gudmundsdottir. Now, Yrsa will stun readers once again with this out-of-this-world ghost story that will leave you shivering.

Connect with the Author

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1
 
 
The waves rolled the boat to and fro in a constantly changing rhythm. The prow bobbed gently up and down as sharper movements shook the vessel, rocking it fiercely from side to side. The skipper struggled to fasten the little boat to a narrow steel post, but the weathered floating dock kept retreating, as if it were part of a game. He patiently repeated the same movements over and over, pulling the frayed rope in the direction of the post, but each time the coarse loop was about to fall into place, it seemed to be yanked away.

Read the full excerpt


Back

Reviews

Praise for I Remember You

Praise for I Remember You

"I Remember You ranks among the scariest, right up there with the best of Stephen King and Peter Straub. It’s that good. And that scary. And, ultimately, that moving." —EarlyWord

"Sigurdardottir combines an intricate mystery with a very frightening ghost story." —RT Book Reviews

"A multilayered tale that builds slowly—the use of smells is especially effective—but drives to a shattering climax that honors the traditions of both detective fiction and ghost stories." —Kirkus Reviews

"Genuinely bone chilling, and proves that as well as being the Queen of Icelandic crime fiction, Sigurđardóttir is a generator of fear quite as adroit as such writers as Stephen King." —The Independent (UK) 

"A chiller-thriller of immense scariness." —The Times (UK) 

Praise for The Day is Dark:
“Fans of mystery fiction with unusual or remote settings should enjoy this one very much.” —Booklist

Praise for Ashes to Dust:
“Excellent . . . Should win this talented Icelandic author new fans.” —Publishers Weekly (starred)

“A puzzle whose grim solution is worthy of Stieg Larsson.” —Kirkus Reviews

 


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

YRSA SIGURDARDÓTTIR (pronounced ỨR-suh SIG-ur-dar-daughter) lives with her family in Reykjavík; she is also a director of one of Iceland's largest engineering firms. Her work is found on bestseller lists all over the world, and films are currently in production for several of her books. Her previous titles include, The Day is Dark and Ashes to Dust.

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Sigurjo´n Ragnar
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

I Remember You
A Ghost Story
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2014
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9781250045621
ISBN10: 1250045622
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 384 pages
$15.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2014
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250019004
ISBN10: 1250019001
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 384 pages
$26.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2014
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466840669
ISBN10: 1466840668
384 pages
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back