Lessons in Loving A Laird

Knaves of Scotland

Michelle Marcos

St. Martin's Paperbacks

From award-winning romance author Michelle Marcos comes Lessons in Loving a Laird--the second installment in the "Knaves of Scotland" series. As rugged and bold as the Scottish hills, the Highland Knaves take no prisoners when it comes to love…
Thrust into indentured servitude as a child, Shona Slayter is counting the days until her twenty-first birthday, when she gains her precious freedom. Unfortunately, the new laird of the estate has other plans—and he’s determined to keep her bound to him. The only way for Shona to be free of her bonds is to marry the man who holds the key. But seducing a handsome laird is not what she was trained for, and the more she tries to win his heart, the more she loses hers.
With a young son to raise and a crumbling Scottish estate to manage, Conall has enough to worry about without the brazen, beautiful Shona challenging him at every turn. But their heated spats are starting to turn into real sparks…and soon the Scottish hills are ablaze with their forbidden attraction. Yet no matter what Shona is willing to do to buy her freedom, Conall has no intention of letting her go…


Read an Excerpt



“I’ll kill her!”
The front door slammed, thrusting an exclamation point on the threat.
Iona rolled her eyes as she wiped her sticky hands on her apron. “What did Shona do this time?”
Her husband lumbered into the kitchen, and wedged his hatchet into the wooden table.
“It’s no’ what she did. It’s what she has no’ done. I ordered her to bring in the flock from the field before midday. Farragut’s will be here any minute to take the lambs


Praise for Lessons in Loving A Laird

Praise for Michelle Marcos:

"A satisfying story of Scottish love overcoming all obstacles, with the reader solidly rooting for fiery, funny Shona." --Publishers Weekly


“A scrumptiously sensual and delightfully witty historical romance…I absolutely loved this story.  Brimming with mystery, humor, witty repartee, an interesting plot, charismatic characters and intrigue, this book is a winner!  I look forward to reading Ms. Marcos' future works as well as those she already has out.  I highly recommend Wickedly Ever After to anyone looking for a terrific read.” —Romance Junkies

"4 ½ Stars!  For this installment of Marcos’ Pleasure Emporium series, the once infamous brothel becomes a school where young ladies learn the art of seduction. Playing on several erotic romance themes and adding her own delicious brand of sensuality, Marcos delivers a fast-paced, sexy tale.” —Romantic Times Book Reviews

"The strong lead characters for which Michelle Marcos is becoming known for are also present in this newest of the Pleasure Emporium novels. WICKEDLY EVER AFTER is a sensual treat for historical romance readers everywhere."  —A Romance Review

“Richly drawn characters, the spice of desire and a bit of mystery combine with undeniable emotion to make this a treat you’ll want to savor over and over again.”  —Romance Reviews Today


“4 ½ Stars!  Marcos gives readers another taste of desire and danger, along with an enticing adventure/mystery in the second Pleasure Emporium novel. Strong and likable characters, as well as a unique setting, should have readers longing for her next book.”—Romantic Times BOOKreviews

“Michelle Marcos infuses plenty of humor and suspense into this historical tale which readers won’t want to put down.”—Romance Junkies

“A talented storyteller, Marcos gives a very human face to all her characters and the moral dilemmas and situations they face. A solid gold read!”—Fresh Fiction


Marcos delivers a refreshing, creative take on the typical Regency, carried by the spirited heroine and buoyed throughout by lively plot twists.” Publishers Weekly

“Her heroine is a spunky delight, and her dark, hostile hero is an ideal foil...Marcos displays talents that are sure to grow with each new title.”—Romantic Times BOOKreviews

“The first in a bold and original new series by a bold and creative new voice in the romance world.  Michelle Marcos is impressive in her debut. The characters in When a Lady Misbehaves are complex and immensely fascinating, the story is imaginative, and the plotting is excellent. Ms. Marcos makes some clever twists on the traditional romance…Marcos is an author to take note of.Romance Reviews Today

“This rags-to-riches story by debut author [Marcos] absolutely sizzles. When A Lady Misbehaves is beautifully done and I highly recommend it.”—Fresh Fiction

When A Lady Misbehaves is loaded with smolder and charm...It was a joy to read this inventive, sexy, and ultimately moving story. When I want a great historical romance, I’ll reach for anything by Michelle Marcos!” Lisa Kleypas, bestselling author of Love in the Afternoon

Reviews from Goodreads



  • Michelle Marcos

  • MICHELLE MARCOS is the author of Secrets to Seducing a Scot and one previous trilogy with St. Martin's Press. A native of Miami, Florida, she's worked as both an English teacher and an actress, and she writes romance to celebrate perfect love. This is her second book in the "Knaves of Scotland" series.

  • Michelle Marcos
    Michelle Marcos


Available Formats and Book Details

Lessons in Loving A Laird

Knaves of Scotland

Michelle Marcos



St. Martin's Paperbacks