North by Northwestern

A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters

Captain Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen

St. Martin's Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Captain Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen North by Northwestern

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook

New York Times bestseller

“A chronicle that reads like a collection of your crazy buddy's bar stories about his crazier old man.” –Outside Magazine

The action of the hit Discovery Channel series DEADLIEST CATCH combines with the personal saga of a Norwegian family in this memoir adventure tale of commercial fishermen on the Bering Sea

In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen’s rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family’s struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream. For Captain Sig Hansen and his brothers, Norman and Edgar, commercial fishing is as much a part of their Norwegian heritage as their names. Descendants of the Vikings who ruled the northern seas for centuries, Sig and his brothers learned to fish from their father when they were boys, just as their father had learned from his father. And after twenty years as a skipper on the commercial fishing vessel the Northwestern Sig has lived to tell the tales.

This is the story of a family of survivors; part memoir and part adventure tale, North by Northwestern brings readers on deck, into the dockside bars and into the history of a family with a common destiny.  Built around the gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like The Perfect Storm, North By Northwestern tells the multigenerational history of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who have become modern day folk-heroes.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Listen

North by Northwestern by Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Captain Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen's book North by Northwestern: A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters. In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen's rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family's struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for North by Northwestern

“A chronicle that reads like a collection of your crazy buddy's bar stories about his crazier old man.”
Outside Magazine
 
"Captain Hansen's passionate love for his work, for the ocean, and for his fellow fishermen is undeniable and admirable."
Examiner.com

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Captain Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen

Sig Hansen is the captain of the commercial fishing vessel Northwestern. He has been featured on Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch from the pilot through every season of the show.   Mark Sundeen is a contributor to Outside, New York Times Magazine, National Geographic Adventure, Men’s Journal, and McSweeney’s. He is the author of The Making of Toro and Car Camping.

Captain Sig Hansen
Mark Sundeen

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

North by Northwestern
A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters
Captain Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books
April 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312672546
ISBN10: 0312672543
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 336 pages, Includes black-and-white photographs throughout plus one 8-page color photograph insert
$15.99

Abridged Digital Audio

Abridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
March 2010
Abridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427209047
ISBN10: 1427209049
Audio Run Time: 6:00
$14.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
March 2010
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312591144
ISBN10: 0312591144
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 336 pages, Includes one 8-page color photograph section
$25.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
March 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429993777
ISBN10: 1429993774
336 pages
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Griffin

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back