OVERRIDE

Not Dead Yet

In the latest from #1 international bestselling author Peter James, Not Dead Yet, Roy Grace tracks a stalker obsessed with a Hollywood starlet.
 

Days before one of Hollywood’s hottest stars, Gaia Lafayette, leaves home for a movie role on location in Brighton, England, there is a bungled attempt on her life. The whole city of Brighton awaits Gaia’s arrival, including her dangerously obsessive Number One fan looking for revenge and an anxious Detective Superintendent Roy Grace, charged with protecting Gaia.

When a mutilated torso is found on a chicken farm miles away in the countryside, Roy Grace has no reason at all to connect this to the star’s visit to the county. But as events rapidly begin to unfold, Roy Grace and his police team find themselves in a desperate race against time to save Gaia’s life from a clever maniac who will stop at nothing to kill her.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

NOT DEAD YET (Chapter 1)

I am warning you, and I won't repeat this warning. Don't take the part. You'd better believe me. Take the part and you are dead. Bitch.

Gaia Lafayette was unaware of the man out in the dark, in the station wagon, who had come to kill her. And she was unaware of the email he had sent. She got hate mail all the time, mostly from religious nutters or folk upset by her swearing or her provocative costumes in some of her stage acts and music videos. Those emails were screened and kept from bothering her by her trusted head of security, Detroit-born Andrew Gulli, a tough

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Not Dead Yet

"James really knows how to plot a procedural thriller, and he enjoys a sly joke." —The New York Times Book Review

"James writes his books in crisp, short chapters that hop in and out of myriad characters' minds . . . Convuluted plots and wildly inventive homicidal setups in rich supply." —Houston Chronicle
 
"James continues to impress with his great imagination, conjuring up grisly murders and improbable crime scenes." —RT Book Reviews
 
"A finish you'll never see coming . . . Recommended." —Midwest Book Review
 
Praise for Barry Award-winner Dead Man's Grip:
“Peter James always gives double value in his elegant police procedurals. . . . The methodical investigation is always authentically detailed . . . [and] James’s inspired villains are also worthy of lead roles in mad-dog-killer thrillers.” —The New York Times
 
“Fans will love this latest Roy Grace thriller, and newcomers will find Dead Man's Grip the perfect place to start.” —The Associated Press
 
"Readers will come back begging for more after this exciting one. For fans of Lee Child and Jeffery Deaver." —Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Peter James

  • PETER JAMES is the #1 international bestselling author of the Roy Grace series with more than 13 million copies sold all over the world. His novels have been translated into thirty-five languages; three have been filmed and two are currently in development. All of his novels reflect his deep interest in the world of the police, with whom he does in-depth research. He has produced numerous films, including The Merchant of Venice, starring Al Pacino, Jeremy Irons, and Joseph Fiennes. He lives in England.
  • Peter James © Gareth Ransome
    Peter James
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Not Dead Yet

    Detective Superintendent Roy Grace

    Peter James

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK