Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Our Lady of Pain

Our Lady of Pain

An Edwardian Murder Mystery

Edwardian Murder Mysteries (Volume 4)

M. C. Beaton

Minotaur Books



Trade Paperback

Lady Rose Summer, the wayward Edwardian debutante who keeps getting mixed up in disreputable adventures, would swear she is not a jealous woman. After all, she knows her engagement to private detective Captain Harry Cathcart is only a ploy to keep her parents from shipping her off to India to find a husband. But then Harry's latest client, Dolores Duval---a vision of curves with a seductive French accent---starts appearing everywhere at his side. And that changes everything.

In a fit of rage, Rose threatens Dolores, only to be found the very next day, standing over her dead body. The newspapers rush to convict her, but can Harry and Superintendent Kerridge of Scotland Yard clear Rose's name and put the real murderer behind bars?

Filled with drawing-room scandal and murderous intrigue, Our Lady of Pain by M.C. Beaton is a delightful addition to her beloved Edwardian Murder Mystery series.


OUR LADY OF PAIN (Chapter 1)
O splendid and sterile Dolores,Our Lady of Pain


Up until that dreadful day in February, Lady Rose Summer would have sworn on a stack of Bibles that she was not a jealous...


Praise for Our Lady of Pain

“If you missed the first novel in this series, get it right away.” —The Globe and Mail (Toronto) on the Edwardian Mysteries of Marion Chesney

“A tidy and well-executed mystery/historical with strong overtones of romance: light entertainment for all collections.” —Library Journal on Sick of Shadows

“A lighthearted romantic romp through Edwardian snobbery, with hints of the cataclysmic changes in store for high society substituting for any serious mystery.” —Kirkus Reviews

“An entertaining and charming tale…a fantastic Edwardian amateur sleuth mystery.” —Midwest Book Review on Sick of Shadows

“Once again Chesney has concocted an amusing brew of mystery and romance that will keep her fans turning the pages.” —Publishers Weekly on Hasty Death

“Another cozy charmer.” —Library Journal on Hasty Death

“If you are a fan of well-written traditional mysteries, Lord Peter, and Albert Campion, you might want to try this series.” —Reviewing the Evidence on Hasty Death

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

M. C. Beaton

M. C. BEATON, the British guest of honor at Bouchercon 2006, is a New York Times bestselling romance and suspense writer who has been hailed as the "Queen of Crime" (The Globe and Mail). She is the author of more than twenty Agatha Raisin novels, whose fans range from the actress Elizabeth Hurley to the Archbishop of Canterbury, as well as the Hamish Macbeth series. Born in Scotland, she now divides her time between Paris and the English Cotswolds.

M. C. Beaton



    Latest on Facebook


    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook