Piper Reed, Navy Brat

Piper Reed (Volume 1 of 6)

Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Square Fish

Download Image Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier Piper Reed, Navy Brat

Available Formats

BookeBook

It’s not easy being the middle child, especially when your dad is a Navy Chief. Meet Piper Reed, a spunky nine-year-old who has moved more times than she can count on one hand. From Texas to Guam, wherever Piper goes, adventure follows, inspired by her active imagination, free-wheeling spirit, and a bit of sister magic. Unlike her older sister, Tori, Piper loves being part of a Navy family, and unlike her little sister, Sam, Piper is no prodigy genius. Piper is Piper—fearless and full of life.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“Filled with warm, realistic family situations mixed with humor, this chapter book deserves a special flyover by the Blue Angels.”—The Horn Book Magazine
 
“This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby.”—School Library Journal
 
“...award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat.”—Booklist
 
“Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner...”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Piper’s lively imagination, wholesomeness and moments of ‘sister magic’ are likable and believable. This easy chapter book, based on Holt’s own experiences, is spot on with the details of roving family life. Davenier’s fluid black-and-white drawings fit the mood and characters . . . Launching a new series, Piper’s foray sets sail with verve, fun and spunk.”—Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including Piper Reed, Navy Brat, Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen, and Piper Reed, Rodeo Star.  She has written many award-winning novels, including The Water Seeker and My Louisiana Sky, as well as the picture books Waiting for Gregory and Skinny Brown Dog. A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world—from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, When Zachary Beaver Came to Town, won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family. Christine Davenier has illustrated numerous children’s books, and won a New York Times-Best Illustrated Award for The First Thing My Mama Told Me. She lives in Paris, France.

Kimberly Willis Holt
Christine Davenier

Shannon Holt
Kimberly Willis Holt

Louis Bourjac
Christine Davenier

Back

Reading Guide

Other Guides

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Piper Reed, Navy Brat
Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Award

Catholic Library Association Award, St. Katherine Drexel Award, Florida Sunshine State Young Readers Award Master List, Minnesota Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award Master List, Oregon Beverly Cleary Children's Choice Award Master List, South Dakota Prairie Pasque Children's Book Award Master List, Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Square Fish
March 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312625481
ISBN10: 0312625480
Chapter Book
5 1/4 x 7 1/8 inches, 176 pages, Black-and-white illustrations
Age Range: 8 to 11
Grade Range: 3 to 6
$5.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Henry Holt and Co.
August 2007
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780805081978
ISBN10: 0805081976
Chapter Book
5 1/4 x 7 1/8 inches, 160 pages, Black-and-white halftone illustrations
Age Range: 8 to 11
Grade Range: 3 to 6 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 610L
AR Quiz Number: 116937
AR Points: 2

$14.95

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Square Fish
July 2008
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312380205
ISBN10: 0312380208
Chapter Book
5 3/16 x 7 5/8 inches, 176 pages, B&W illustrations
Age Range: 8 to 11
Grade Range: 3 to 6 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 610LL

$6.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Henry Holt and Co.
March 2011
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466814233
ISBN10: 1466814233
Chapter Book176 pages, Black-and-white illustrations
Age Range: 8 to 11
Grade Range: 3 to 6
$4.27
Back

From The Publisher

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back