Red Mesa

Ella Clah (Volume 6 of 17)

Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo

Forge Books

Download Image Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo Red Mesa

Available Formats

eBook
Navajo Police Special Investigator Ella Clah is on the run. Justine, Ella's cousin and fellow officer, disappeared after the two women argued publicly over Justine's new boyfriend. Human bones are discovered at the spot where the younger woman had told her family she and Ella were to meet late one night. Suddenly Ella Clah, cop, is Ella Clah, murder suspect.
Stunned by Justine's death, Ella has no time to mourn. Her former allies in the Navajo Police Department and the FBI are hot on her trail, using techniques she taught them to hunt her down. Ella has to find the real killers--and fast--before the Dineh act on a growing belief that Ella's mother, brother, and young daughter have become evil.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

ONE
 
 
It was already dark before Special Investigator Ella Clah, head of the major crimes unit for the Navajo Tribal Police, was able to call it a day. As she stepped out the main entrance of the Shiprock station, the cool September air made her realize how stuffy her office had been.
A relatively uneventful afternoon working on reports had made the passage of time excruciatingly slow, and Ella was looking forward to seeing her daughter and playing with her tonight. The time she spent with Dawn was always the best part of any day.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Red Mesa

"Mystery readers who like their murders solved by applied intelligence will love Ella Clah."--Tony Hillerman

"Red Mesa is an engrossing mystery as intricately woven as a fine Navajo rug. It kept me guessing to the end."--Margaret Coel, New York Times bestselling author

"Fans of Tony Hillerman and Jean Hager should appreciate the way the Thurlos mix Native American lore with modern situations and forensics technique. Even readers unfamiliar with the Native American subgenre will be intrigued by the richly complex Ella and her fight to bring integrity to her work and personal life."--Booklist (starred review)

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo

Aimée and David Thurlo have been married for more than thirty years and have been writing novels together for nearly that long, in a variety of genres including romance, young adult, and mystery. They have three ongoing mystery series, the Sister Agatha series, starring a cloistered nun, the Lee Nez series, featuring a Navajo vampire who teams up with a female FBI agent to fight crimes that have elements of the supernatural, and their flagship series, the critically-acclaimed Ella Clah novels. Several Ella Clah novels, including Tracking Bear, Red Mesa, and Shooting Chant, have received starred reviews from Booklist.

David Thurlo was raised on the Navajo Indian Reservation and later taught school in Shiprock, also on the Rez. Aimée, a native of Havana, Cuba, has lived in New Mexico for more than thirty years. The Thurlos share their home with dogs, horses, and various pet rodents. They have written more than fifty novels which have been published in more than twenty countries.

Aimée Thurlo
David Thurlo

David Thurlo

Official Sites

Back

Community

Criminalelement.com

Latest Blog Posts

More Blog Posts
 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Red Mesa
Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Tom Doherty Associates
Forge Books
February 2002
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466841949
ISBN10: 146684194X
384 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back