Rosemary and Crime

A Spice Shop Mystery

Spice Shop Mystery Series (Volume 1)

Gail Oust

Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Gail Oust Rosemary and Crime

Available Formats

BookeBook

Murder comes well-seasoned in this charming mystery featuring a smart and spunky new amateur sleuth, small-town Georgia spice shop owner Piper Prescott

 

Piper Prescott, a transplanted Yankee living in the South, has got her sass back.  She might be down, but don’t count her out.  “Change of life?” she asks.  Bring it on.  Recently divorced, Piper decides to pursue a dream she’s secretly harbored: owning her own business, Spice it Up!, a spice shop in her adopted hometown, Brandywine Creek, Georgia.  But Piper’s grand opening goes awry when the local chef who’s agreed to do a cooking demo is found stabbed.  Not only did Piper find the body, she handled the murder weapon and doesn’t have a witness to her alibi, making the case look like a slam dunk to brand new police Chief Wyatt McBride.  Desperate to uncover the truth—and prove her innocence—Piper enlists the help of her outspoken BFF Reba Mae Johnson to help track down the real culprit.  The pair compile a lengthy list of suspects and work to eliminate them using their own creative brand of sleuthing techniques including stakeouts, breaking and entering, and one very unorthodox chocolate pie. When Piper narrowly avoids being a victim of a hit-and-run, she knows she’s getting closer to the truth, but can she catch the killer and clear her name before she becomes the next victim?

 

A captivating start to a new series featuring an unstoppably fabulous new crime-solving heroine, a colorful cast of small town characters, and more than a pinch of Georgia charm, Rosemary and Crime by Gail Oust is sure to delight fans of Diane Mott Davidson and Donna Andrews.

Connect with the Author

Gail Oust

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER 1
 
 
ACROSS THE SQUARE, a Confederate soldier atop a concrete pedestal stared sightlessly at a couple enjoying ice cream on a wrought iron bench. Wrens warbled in the willow oaks. The sky was cerulean and cloudless; the breeze warm and gentle. But anyone who’s ever been in the path of a hurricane wouldn’t be lulled into complacency by ice cream, blue skies, or a balmy breeze. They’d recall another time, perhaps another place, and remember what it was like—this calm before the storm. Unfortunately, I had no such experience and thus went merrily

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Rosemary and Crime

“[A] quality first in a Southern cozy series… The practical, vulnerable Piper turns to her colorful BBF, Reba Mae Johnson, for help in proving her innocence. Two possible love interests add spice—and that’s not counting Piper’s former husband. This is a must-read for fans of Carolyn Hart’s Death on Demand series, as well as those who like culinary mysteries.” –Publishers Weekly


“Piper's real-life problems as she negotiates her peril, along with some sassy small talk from Reba, will have fans of Oust (Shake, Murder, and Roll, 2011, etc.) looking for the sequel.” --Kirkus


“Struggles with her teen daughter and problems trying to keep business going add dimension to the story of Piper’s sleuthing efforts.  A strong cast of secondary characters add to the appeal.  Fans of Jenn McKinlay and Ellery Adams will want to add this series to their reading lists.” –Booklist

"Gail Oust has crafted an excellent mystery, chock full of savory treats including a charming small town atmosphere and a lively, engaging heroine, accented with a sprinkling of delicious spices.  Truly a cut above -- and highly recommended!" –Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hen of the Baskervilles

 

“Gail Oust has whipped up a killer read featuring the snappy new amateur sleuth Piper Prescott.  Added into the mystery mix are a sweet puppy, a troublesome ex, a charming new beau and a smokin' hot chief of police.  Rosemary and Crime is a character-driven zip zap of a tale with a robust mystery that readers will relish.” –Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author of Book, Line, and Sinker

 

“A down-but-not-out divorcee deals with a new life, an appealing but challenging teenage daughter, and murder, teeming up with a spunky dog in a delightful Southern romp. Fast, freewheeling, and fun.” --Carolyn Hart, national bestselling author of What the Cat Saw

 

“A delicious new mystery series guaranteed to make you hungry for more. Gail Oust's warm, witty characters bring southern charm to life.” –Krista Davis, national bestselling author of The Diva Digs Up the Dirt

 

Rosemary and Crime is a custom blend of humor and suspense with an added dash of flavorful characters. Piper Prescott is a tasteful addition to the world of amateur sleuths. Gail Oust has created a delicious new addition to the world of cozy mysteries. I'm definitely adding her to my must-read list.” –Jacklyn Brady, national bestselling author of Arsenic and Old Cake

 


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Gail Oust

The author of the Bunco Babes mystery series, GAIL OUST is often accused of flunking retirement.  Hearing the words "maybe it's a dead body" while golfing fired her imagination for writing a cozy.  Ever since then, she has spent more time on a computer than at a golf course.  She lives with her husband in McCormick, South Carolina.

Gail Oust

Gail Oust

Official Sites

Back

Community

Criminalelement.com

Latest Blog Posts

More Blog Posts
 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Rosemary and Crime
A Spice Shop Mystery
Gail Oust

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
December 2013
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250011046
ISBN10: 1250011043
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$25.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
10/28/2014
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9781250057754
ISBN10: 1250057752
4 1/8 x 6 3/4 inches, 336 pages
$7.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
December 2013
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466834286
ISBN10: 1466834285
320 pages
$12.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back