OVERRIDE

Shadow Gate

Book Two of Crossroads

Crossroads (Volume 2)

Kate Elliott

Tor Books

The captivating, bestselling Spirit Gate swept readers into the turbulent world of the Hundred, where the peace and order of life under the protection of the immortal Guardians has given way to chaos and violence. In the face of a vast horde of marauders led by a rogue Guardian, the bravery and resourcefulness of a lone eagle-reeve and others who risk their lives for the common good have prevented death and destruction from overwhelming the Hundred.

In Shadow Gate, the enthralling sequel, the source of corruption of the Guardians is still a mystery to the mortals who fight to withstand the forces that have turned against them. And when three new Guardians emerge, a struggle begins among the immortals, with nothing less at stake than the future of the land and its gods.

With all the color, excitement, and narrative power that have made Kate Elliott an enormously popular writer, Shadow Gate weaves a powerful spell of action, romance, and magic that will entrance legions of readers.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1
Marit was pretty sure she had been murdered. She recalled vividly the assassin’s dagger that had punctured her skin, thrust up under her ribs, and pierced her heart. Any reeve—and Marit was a reeve—could tell you that was a killing blow, a certain path to a swift death. In the moment when life must pass over into death and the spirit depart the body, the misty outlines of the Spirit Gate unfold. The passage between this world and the other world had opened within her dying vision. But her spirit had not made the journey.
She woke alone, sprawled naked on a Guardian
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Shadow Gate

“Elliott’s strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book.  She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding.  Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying.—Times Book Reviews

“A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating.” —SF Revu

“Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott’s best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones…” —Fantasy Book Critic

“This promises to be a truly epic fantasy.” —Publishers Weekly on Spirit Gate

Spirit Gate has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It’s a big, complex, absorbing book that interfered with my living my daily life while I was reading it, and I blame the author quite bitterly for that.” —Laura Resnick, award-winning author of In Fire Forged on Spirit Gate

“I love this book. Once again Kate Elliott has written a splendid, grand epic that sweeps the reader into this magical world and doesn’t let go even after the very last word on the very last page. I can’t wait for the sequel to see what happens next.” —Dennis L. McKiernan, author of Once Upon a Spring Morn on Spirit Gate

“A treasure for readers who enjoy the journey as much as, or more than, the destination.” —Sci Fi Weekly on Spirit Gate

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Kate Elliott

  • Kate Elliott is the author of more than a dozen epic novels. Her novel King’s Dragon was a finalist for the Nebula Award and The Golden Key (co-written with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Born in Oregon, she lives in Hawaii.
  • Kate Elliott
    Kate Elliott
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Shadow Gate

    Book Two of Crossroads

    Crossroads

    Kate Elliott

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK