OVERRIDE

Skarlet

Part One of the Vampire Trinity

Thomas Emson

St. Martin's Griffin

When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, it’s open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead

 

Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.

 

Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.  Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.

 

 

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER 1
BLOOD TIES
 
 
FIVE MILES NORTH OF BRASOV, ROMANIA—11 A.M., NOVEMBER 13, 1983
THE stranger said, “I’ll buy your children.”
The father gawped. He looked at his wife. The wife put her face in her hands and whimpered.
And the stranger said, “I’ll pay a good price. Do the men in the town pay a good price? I will better it and take them away from you. Your lives will improve with all that money, yes?”
The father’s face tightened. He glanced across at his children. They were huddled together near the door. His
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Skarlet

Praise for SKARLET and Thomas Emson:

“Emson feeds fresh blood to the vampire genre in this visceral hybrid of plague, panic, and the paranormal, which launches a series worth watching… Furious pacing doesn’t preclude harsh poetic imagery as human greed blurs lines between friend and foe, victim and victimizer.  Lawton’s personal crises enrich the splattery carnage, and the plot is lent pathos by a misguided human population as dismal as the undead.  The vampires of this energetic and philosophical fable are the rotting, deadly creatures of folklore, and a refrehsing change for readers who weary of the sexy undead.” –Publishers Weekly


“Very exciting… Fast paced, with sharply defined characters and a very clever historical explanation for the modern-day vampires (it involves ancient Babylon and Alexander the Great), the book should find a large audience. It’s worth pointing out that this is no “vampire romance”; it’s an out-and-out horror story, dark and brutal and thrilling.” --Booklist


"This is a writer to watch...and to fear." --Michael McBride, author of GOD'S END
"The premise behind the rise of the vampires is fresh and clever, and with this established and pieces of the backstory falling into place, the suspension of disbelief can be all but taken out of the equation, leaving you to enjoy the bloodthirsty rampage that Thomas has unleashed on a well researched London....A crimson delight. A gripping, action rich adventure thriller that breathes new life into the vampire mythos." --MyFavouriteBooks.blogspot.com

"Emson weaves a compelling story across multiple times and places, from Alexander the Great conquering Babylon to Iraq when the Ottomans ousted the British in 1920 to the most recent war in Iraq....And to somehow take these disparate locations and tie them together with modern London without skipping a beat...was quite entertaining." --BlogCritics.org
"London is gritty and grimy rather than glamorous, the vampires are mindless killing machines and the story’s heroes are all realistically un-heroic. Fast pacing is maintained through out the book and the overall result is a most readable novel." --LoveVampires.com

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Thomas Emson

  • THOMAS EMSON is a writer who lives in Kent in the UK. Skarlet is his second novel, and the first in the Vampire Trinity.

  • Thomas Emson
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Skarlet

    Part One of the Vampire Trinity

    Thomas Emson

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    St. Martin's Griffin

    BACK