Snakes Can't Run

A Mystery

Robert Chow (Volume 2)

Ed Lin

Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Ed Lin Snakes Can't Run

Available Formats

BookeBook
An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelecanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimed This Is a Bust
 
It’s a hot summer in New York’s Chinatown in 1976 and Robert Chow, the Chinese-American detective son of an illegal immigrant, takes on a new breed of ruthless human smugglers— snakeheads—when two bodies of smuggled Chinese are found dead under the Brooklyn Bridge underpass. But as Robert comes closer to finding some answers, he discovers a dark secret in his own family’s past...

Connect with the Author

Ed Lin

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

1
August 1, 1976
TO THE NOTICE OF NOBODY IN CHINATOWN, MY PARTNER AND I climbed out of a manhole on Bayard Street close to the intersection with Mulberry. It was the third storm drain section we had checked out that day.
I sat on the back bumper of our Con Ed truck and Vandyne joined me there after pulling out two cold cans of Coke from the cooler in the front seat. I wiped off the Tiger Balm from my upper lip and nose onto my sleeve. We were smelly and exhausted. Ghosts swam by in the humidity.
We pulled the tabs off our Cokes and flipped them into the open manhole.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Snakes Can't Run

"Like an astronaut planting a flag on the moon, I'm claiming the discovery of Ed Lin and you're all going to have to fight me for him. He's my favorite new writer in years. I can't wait to see what he does next." - SJ Rozan, author of Shanghai Moon

"Reminiscent of the urban noir of Charles Willeford…both lively and dead-on. Snakes Can't Run is a book with fangs. It wastes no time coiling you in its plot and devouring the reader with both venomous and memorable characters." - Arthur Nersesian, author of The Fuck Up

"Pulsating...reminiscent of Elmore Leonard. As we follow the novel's singular detective, Robert Chow, and delve deeper into the fascinating, labyrinthine subculture of New York's Chinatown in the 1970s, Snakes Can't Run becomes compulsively readable." - Don Lee, author of Wrack and Ruin and Country of Origin

"Ed Lin is a new gifted voice in the urban crime and mystery genre, depicting his inner landscape, New York's Chinatown and beyond, with innate affection, sharp acuteness and understated humor. Lin's charm oozes from the amazing arrays of characters prowling that Island-tip precinct; his tales are well-simmered mysteries, to be slowly savored and relished."

- Da Chen, author of Colors of the Mountain and Brothers

"Snakes Can't Run is a unique down-to-the-gritty-sidewalk police procedural. If you dig the novels of Eddie Bunker or movies like 'King of New York' and 'Mean Streets,' Ed Lin's subterranean neighborhood is for you." - Barry Gifford, author of Imagination of the Heart and Wild at Heart


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Ed Lin

ED LIN is the only author to win the Asian American Literary Member’s Choice Award twice, first for his novel Waylaid and then for This is a Bust. Awarded Booklists Editor’s Choice and Top Ten First Novel for Waylaid, he lives in New York City.

Ed Lin

Gregory Constanzo
Ed Lin

Official Sites

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Snakes Can't Run
A Mystery
Ed Lin

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2010
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312569884
ISBN10: 0312569882
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$24.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429924672
ISBN10: 1429924675
304 pages
$2.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back