OVERRIDE

Texas Anthem

The Texas Anthem Series

Kerry Newcomb

St. Martin's Paperbacks

He left home a boy. Returned a man. And rode out again a renegade...

At the Bonnet Ranch they thought Johnny Anthem had died on the Mexican border. But then Anthem came home, escaped from the living hell of a Mexican prison, and returned to find the woman he loved married to the man who betrayed him. For Johnny Anthem, the time had come to face his betrayer, to stand up to the powerful rancher who had raised him as his own son, and to fight for the only love of his life. And when the battle between Anthem and the Bonnet started shaking the blood-stained hills of the mescalero country, good men and bad would choose sides, and a new legend would be born...

Texas Anthem is Kerry Newcomb's epic novel of family, fortune, murder and love, as a young man is driven from his adopted home-to find his soul and his future in a place called Texas...

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

PART ONEAPRIL 18491The dream began where it always did … Chihuahua, Mexico, July 4, 1848. Nine months past, on the borderline. Johnny Anthem had spent his twentieth birthday, and his country’s seventy-second, riding for his life.With gunfire for fireworks and his galloping black mare’s hoofbeats for cadenzas, Anthem was his own parade. Wishing himself and America many happy returns, Anthem hunched low in the saddle as a musket ball whistled past his head. He glanced over his shoulder in time to see Vin Cotter thumb a shot at their pursuers.A year older and two sizes smaller, Vin
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Texas Anthem

"In the tradition of Louis L'Amour and John Jakes, [Newcomb] blends fast-paced action, pulse-raising romance and historically accurate settings." --Dallas Morning News

"Kerry Newcomb is one of those writers who lets you know from his very first lines that you're in for a ride. And he keeps his promise...Newcomb knows what he is doing, and does it enviably well." --Cameron Judd, author of Confederate Gold

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Kerry Newcomb

  • Kerry Newcomb was born in Milford, Connecticut, but had the good fortune to be raised in Texas. He has served in the Jesuit Volunteer Corps and taught at the St. Labre Mission School on the Northern Cheyenne Reservation in Montana. Mr. Newcomb has written plays, film scripts, commercials, liturgical dramas, and over thirty novels under both his own name and a variety of pseudonyms. He lives with his family in Ft. Worth, Texas.
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Texas Anthem

The Texas Anthem Series

Kerry Newcomb

  • e-Book

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

St. Martin's Paperbacks

BACK