Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Black Book

The Black Book

An Inspector Rebus Novel

Inspector Rebus Novels (Volume 5)

Ian Rankin

Minotaur Books



Trade Paperback

Five years ago, a mysterious fire burned Edinburgh's seed Central Hotel to ashes. Long-forgotten and unsolved, the case reappears when a charred body--with a bullet in its head--is found amongst the ruins. Inspector John Rebus knows that his superiors would rather he let sleeping dogs lie. He knows that part of the answer lies somewhere in a cryptic black notebook. And he knows that to solve the case, he'll have to peel back layer upon layer of unspeakable secrets to arrive at the truth. . .

The Sunday Telegraph raves, "No one captures the noirish side of the city as well as Rankin," and The Black Book is one of his best.


Chapter 1

IT all happened because John Rebus was in his favourite massage parlour reading the Bible.

I It all happened because a man walked in through the door in the mistaken belief that any massage parlour sited so close to a brewery...


Praise for The Black Book

“With this latest action-packed adventure of Edinburgh's Inspector John Rebus, Rankin steps into the company of accomplished fellow British procedural writers John Harvey and Peter Turnbull.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Thick and zesty as a bottomless bowl of Scotch broth. ...Rebus ... shines right down to the nasty surprise on the last page.” —Kirkus Reviews

“No one captures the noirish side of the city as well as Rankin.” —Sunday Telegraph

“Ian Rankin joins the elite of British crime writing.” —Marcel Berlins, The Times

In the Press

Read the Kirkus Review of THE BLACK BOOK . Edinburgh Inspector John Rebus's bad week—his lover throws him out; his ex-dealing, ex-con brother, Mickey, turns up on his doorstep—shows every promise of getting worse. - Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin is the worldwide #1 bestselling writer of the Inspector Rebus mysteries, including Knots and Crosses, Hide and Seek, Let It Bleed, Black and Blue, Set in Darkness, Resurrection Men, A Question of Blood, The Falls and Exit Music. He has won an Edgar Award, a Gold Dagger for fiction, a Diamond Dagger for career excellence, and the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and received the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for his contributions to literature. He graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982. He lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.

Ian Rankin



    Latest on Facebook


    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook