The Cat Sitter's Cradle

A Dixie Hemingway Mystery

Dixie Hemingway Mysteries (Volume 8)

Blaize and John Clement

Minotaur Books

Download Image Blaize and John Clement The Cat Sitter's Cradle

Available Formats

BookeBook

Blaize Clement won fans all over the world with the charm and wit of her pet-sitting mysteries. Now, with the help of her son, author John Clement, Blaize’s beloved heroine Dixie Hemingway is back for yet another thrilling adventure in this critically-acclaimed series.

Dixie has built a nice, quiet life for herself in the sleepy town of Siesta Key, a sandy resort island off the coast of Florida. In fact, her pet-sitting business is going so well she’s even taken on part-time help: Kenny, a handsome young surfer who lives alone in a rickety old houseboat. But things get a little messy when, on an early morning walk in the park with a client’s schnauzer, Dixie makes a shocking discovery. Hidden among the leafy brambles is a homeless girl, alone and afraid, cradling a newborn baby in her arms.

Dixie takes the young girl under her wing, even though she’s just been hired by Roy Harwick, the snarky executive of a multi-national oil company, to care for his equally snarky Siamese cat, Charlotte, along with his wife’s priceless collection of rare, tropical fish. It’s not long before Dixie stumbles upon a dead body in the unlikeliest of places, and soon she’s set adrift in a murky and dangerous world in which no one is who they appear to be.

Smart, fast-paced and entertaining, The Cat Sitter’s Cradle is a perfect illustration of why
Dixie’s loyal fans have come to know and love her and eagerly await the next installment of her adventures.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for The Cat Sitter's Cradle

PRAISE FOR BLAIZE CLEMENT

 

THE cat sitter’S PAJAMAs

 “Fans of pet mysteries, such as those by Laurien Berenson, will enjoy it, as will anyone hankering for a little virtual travel to Siesta Key.”—Booklist

 

 

cat sitter among the PIGEONS

Dixie’s latest adventure keeps you glued to your seat from the first chapter.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A riveting and rewarding read.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

 

RAINING CAT SITTERS AND DOGS

“Another enjoyable tale from Blaize Clement.”—Kirkus Reviews

 

 “Smooth prose, a lush background...a fine-feathered read.”—Publishers Weekly

 

 

CAT SITTER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

“Thoughtful and compelling.”—Publishers Weekly

 

“A feel-good [series]…Recommend this one for readers who liked the southern setting and animal characters in Joyce and Jim Lavene’s The Telltale Turtle.” —Booklist

 

 
EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES
 “Gutsy, sexy…Dixie is Siesta Key’s favorite pet sitter.”—Sarasota Herald-Tribune

“Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable hybrid . . . sure to delight readers.”—Publishers Weekly

“For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon.”—Library Journal

“Ingenious…captivating. Here is a series that even people who dislike pet mysteries can enjoy.”
Reviewing the Evidence

 “Will have readers begging for more treats.”—Lansing State Journal

 


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Blaize and John Clement

JOHN CLEMENT is the son of BLAIZE CLEMENT (1932-2011), who originated the Dixie Hemingway mystery series and collaborated with her son on the plots and characters for forthcoming novels. Blaize lived for many years in Sarasota, Florida; John lives in New York City.

John Clement
Blaize Clement

Photo: Rick Geiger
Back

Community

Criminalelement.com

Latest Blog Posts

More Blog Posts
 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Cat Sitter's Cradle
A Dixie Hemingway Mystery
Blaize and John Clement

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
June 2014
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9781250054340
ISBN10: 1250054346
4 1/8 x 6 3/4 inches, 320 pages
$7.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
July 2013
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250009326
ISBN10: 1250009324
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$24.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
July 2013
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781250030283
ISBN10: 1250030285
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back