The Dark Side of the Sun

A Novel

Elizabeth Palmer

Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Elizabeth Palmer The Dark Side of the Sun

Available Formats

eBook
Growing up as the governess's daughter in the shadow of the Harding family's eccentric charm, Mary Fox can never hope to share their unshakable social confidence. Beautiful Godfrey, outrageous Nettie, and the twins, Jonathan and William, are born into a world of privilege where money, status, pleasure and love seem their birthright. Although aware of the disparity between them, Mary clings to the illusion of family that sharing a life with them brings-for her own mother, the secretive, mysterious Sybil, is most definitely not the maternal type.

When the idyll is shattered by the outbreak of war, Mary and Nettie are forced to find their own, very individual ways of making ends meet. Mary finds her formidable intelligence valued for the first time, but Nettie has a much more unusual way of helping the brave boys fighting Hitler...

In this sparkling novel, Elizabeth Palmer brings all her sharp wit and brilliant observation to bear, combining glittering lifestyles, potent sensuality and dark secrets in a poignant and compelling story of love and the art of survival.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for The Dark Side of the Sun

Praise for Elizabeth Palmer

The Dark Side of the Sun
"[T]his energetic page-turner emphasizes the passions seething beneath the famed stiff upper lip demeanor that sees these characters, along with the rest of England, through the horrors of war." --Publishers Weekly
"[S]ure to please lovers of women's fiction. Highly recommended" --Library Journal
"Passion-plagued characters, an adverb for every emotion, and an addictive novel-within-a-novel come together for something akin to a satisfying mug of ale." --Kirkus Reviews

Flowering Judas
"Engaging characters and lush atmosphere add up to delightfully fresh and frolicsome fun." -- Publishers Weekly
"Like a Restoration playwright, Palmer deftly evokes a world where vengeance is sweet, true love unexpected, and the race to the swift. A marvelous modern romp." --Kirkus Reviews

The Golden Rule
"Juggling as many story lines as a soap opera, and with deadly wit, Dublin writer Palmer skewers all manner of pomposity and self-absorption in a contemporary London crowd . . . . Palmer's social satire is irresistible" --Publishers Weekly
"The charm and surefire wit of Palmer's previous work rise to the occasion once more...the tale told here is a gleeful union of satire and romance, immensely entertaining and hearty." --Kirkus Reviews
"In the tradition of Scarlet Angel and Flowering Judas, this sharp, satirical novel by one of Britain's finest writers gives a pointed, irresistible jab to the hypocrisy of the "appearances are everything" crowd." --Ingram

Old Money
"Palmer's literate, understated, meticulous style makes Old Money a delight to read." --Boston Globe
"[A]n archly funny examination of the subtle wiles of the rich. Palmer's third novel is an acerbic tour de force." --Publishers Weekly
"[W]itty English comedy of manners . . . the spoof on high society, money, family, and power remains a great deal of fun." --Library Journal
"[R]espectable . . . [an] enjoyable romp" --Booklist

Plucking the Apple
"With an impeccable blend of empathy and mocking wit, Palmer delivers a novel of high-society slapstick that is nearly impossible to put down. [An] abundance of delightful wickedness . . . hilarious, acutely observed scenes . . . [a] savvy and highly literate romp." --Publishers Weekly
"[T]horoughly likable romp . . . a consistently lively read." --Kirkus Reviews
"Fans of the movie "Four Weddings and a Funeral" will lap up this story of manners and morals . . . engaging characters and wry humor entice to the end" --Booklist

Scarlet Angel
"[A] comedy of manners, adroitly plotted and recounted with dry wit and engaging cynicism." --Publishers Weekly
"In the deliciously deadpan, confidential tone of an avid gossip, Palmer gives us a world in which the evil are very, very bad, and the good often betrayed by their own timidity." --Kirkus Reviews
"[A] sleek and alluring tale . . . rendered in meticulous and suspenseful detail. Palmer has cleverly melded key elements of gothic romance with the structure of psychological thrillers and achieved a creation that defines entertainment." --Booklist
"The characters are remarkable, as is Elizabeth Palmer's prose, frequently and deftly employing wry understatement." --Roanoke Times & World News

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Elizabeth Palmer

Elizabeth Palmer has published several previous novels with St. Martin's Press including The Golden Rule, Flowering Judas, Old Money, and Plucking the Apple. She and her husband live in Dublin, Ireland.

Mrs. Elizabeth Palmer

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Dark Side of the Sun
A Novel
Elizabeth Palmer

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
7/29/2014
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466876552
ISBN10: 1466876557
320 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Thomas Dunne Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back